2010 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 Off-Road Race

Nov. 17, 2010 By Josh Burns, Photos by Art Eugenio
The 43rd Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 off-road desert race is underway. The dirt bikes, ATVs and UTVs were first off the starting line in Ensenada at 6:30 a.m., and the trucks just started taking off the line at 11:30 a.m. Racers will travel down the Baja Peninsula to the finish line in La Paz racing on the brutal 1061.69-mile course. Stay tuned to Off-Road.com for more updates on the race.

Click here for official 2010 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 results.

Follow us with up-to-date info on the Baja 1000 on Twitter:

Follow us on Facebook:

  Team Vildosola Racing Earns 2010 SCORE Baja 1000 Overall Victory

The father-and-son duo of Gustavo Vildosola Jr. and Sr. earn a historic win at th 2010 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000.

  Kendall Norman and Quinn Cody Post-Race Press Conference Video

The 1x JCR Honda team of Kendall Norman and Quinn Cody speak to the press about their Baja 1000 victory.  

  Race Update: Vildosola Leads Trucks, Norman Leads Bikes

The father-and-son team of Gustavo Vildosola Jr. and Sr. hope to become the first Mexican nationals to win the SCORE Baja 1000.

  Rod Hall Racing Trophy Truck Unveiled for Baja 1000 Race

The new Rod Hall Racing Trophy Truck was unveiled just before racing in the 2010 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000.

  Oshkosh Corp. Test New Off-Road Concept Vehicle at Baja 1000

SCORE's Sal Fish creates new class for off-road concept vehicle.

The dirt bikes were first off the line in Ensenada this morning. Photo by Dan Passe

  KTM Dirt Bike Team Suffers Blown Motor

KTM's hopes to win the Baja 1000 might have just blown up.

  The Finish Line in La Paz Comes Together

The racers won't make it to La Paz for quite a few hours and 100s more miles of brutal off-road terrain, but the finish line is starting to take shape.

   Monster Energy's Casey Currie Baja 1000 Interview

Currie is one of six drivers to earn seat in a Wide Open Baja race vehicle through his accomplishments in short-course racing on the Team BFG program.

  BFGoodrich SCORE Baja 1000 Flashback

BFGoodrich is hoping to earn its 70th overall four-wheel win at the 43rd running of the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000.

  Bill Caswell Builds Car at SEMA to Race Baja 1000

When handed a list this morning of late entries by SCORE officials, the 1407 car of William Caswell was on the list. We’ll see how he does.

   KTM Team Hope to Dethrone Honda at Baja 1000

The entries for the pro dirt bike class (Class 22) are down this year, but there are three teams that most expect to compete for the overall: JCR Honda’s 1x team, the KTM 7x bike, and the JCR Honda 8x bike. Should be a great battle down the peninsula.


Tech and Contingency on Wednesday, November 17 in Ensenada

Tech and contingency was in Ensenada today, with the race starting tomorrow on Thursday, November 17.

The 43rd running of the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 kicks off tomorrow morning, with the bikes heading off the starting line in Ensenada first at 6:30 a.m. with ATVs to follow. Typically the trucks and other four-wheeled vehicles will leave four hours later, but this year they will stagger them another hour back to give most of the dirt bikes and ATVs more of a running start for the 1061.69-mile course that will conclude down the Baja peninsula in La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Tequila anyone?

First off the line in Class 22 (Pro Motorcycles) tomorrow morning is the 2x bike of Gabriel Williams. Although there are a surprisingly low number of pro entries at 12, there looks to be some great competition in the class. KTM is creating quite a bit of buzz with its five-rider team that it hope will put an end to Honda’s dominance in the class. The 7x KTM530XCW will be ridden by David Pearson, Mike Childress, Ivan Ramirez, Shane Esposito and Steve Hengeveld hope to cross the finish line in La Paz first. The Johnny Campbell Racing (JCR) / Honda team will field two teams: the 1x bike will feature 2010 AMA Hare and Hound Champion Kendall Norman and Quinn Cody (Johnny Campbell is also on the list in case he needs to hop on), and he 8x bike piloted by Colton Udall, Justin Imhoff and Timmy Weigand.

Roger Norman will ironman the race tomorrow, and he is the first Trophy-Truck off the line.

In the Trophy Truck class, Roger Norman will be the first racer off the line, and he plans to ironman the race. Second off the line will be the Mexican team of Gus Vildosola Jr., Gus Vildosola Sr., and Rodrigo Ampudia, as they look to be the first Mexican National team to win the 1000. BJ Baldwin is third off the line followed closely by the father-and-son team of Scott and Andy McMillin. Other notable racers are Robby Gordon, in his new Speed Energy Drink truck, Cameron Steele, Ed Stout, Jesse James, Troy Herbst, Rick D. Johnson and many more. It’s a packed field, and with a race this long … anyone can win it.

SCORE partnered with Azuñia Tequila for this unique bottle for the 43rd running of the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000.

Check back for more updates tomorrow when the race kicks off.

Gustavo (Tavo) Vildosola Jr. (middle) and father Gustavo Vildosola Sr. (right) will drive with Rodrigo Ampudia Jr. in hopes of becoming the first Mexican National team to win the Baja 1000.

Just as a quick note, SCORE also released its 2011 schedule for the series if you missed it. Check it out below:

2011 SCORE Desert Series Schedule of Events

Jan. 14-16--17th SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge
Laughlin, Nevada

March 11-13--25th MasterCraft Safety Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 
San Felipe, Baja California, Mexico

June 2-5--43rd Tecate SCORE Baja 500
Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

Aug./Sept.--To Be Determined

Nov. 17-20--44th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000
Baja California, Mexico

Stickers anyone?

Off-Road.com Newsletter
Join our Weekly Newsletter to get the latest off-road news, reviews, events, and alerts!