Whibley Wins Championship at OMA Nationals Off-Road Race

Oct. 18, 2010 By Mark Kariya
Paul Whibley, shown here with promoter Bill Gusse, romped away with the Moose Run, his seventh straight OMA triumph, thus sealing his third consecutive OMA championship.

Paul Whibley rode to an uncontested win at Moose Run, presented by Moose Racing, to seal his third consecutive Parts Unlimited Off-road Motorcycle and ATV Nationals championship. Despite facing the largest field of the season, the AmPro/FMF Yamaha racer responded brilliantly, taking the lead early and waltzing away at the series finale in Fenton, Illinois, a classic event on the calendar thatís unique in its diversity.
Whibley got a break when JG Off-road/GEICO Powersports/Monster Energy Kawasaki teammates Jimmy Jarrett and Scott Watkins tangled inadvertently behind him with Watkins getting the worst end of the deal. He suffered a badly broken collarbone in the ensuing crash, prompting Jarrett and several others to stop and offer assistance until he could get evacuated. (Watkins was scheduled to have surgery to repair it on Monday, October 18, and heís expected to make a full recovery, according to race officials.)
Watkins, of course, had second place in the standings locked up going into the Moose Run, but that wasnít true for some of the other spots, so when those who stayed behind to render aid resumed racing there were still things at stake.
Jarrett would end up taking second (for only the second time in a season filled with bad luck) with Husabergís Nick Fahringer rounding out the podium for the fourth time. That vaulted Jarrett to fourth in final series point standings, unofficially, behind Whibley, Watkins and Thad Duvall (who skipped the race). The four-time series champ finished tied in points with Fahringer, but with the Moose Run being the tie-breaker, his runner-up finish proved crucial and rewarding.
Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Greenís Jordan Ashburn and Kís Motorsports-backed Adam Bonneur rounded out the top five for the day.

1. Paul Whibley (Yamaha YZ450F)
2. Jimmy Jarrett (Kawasaki KX450F)
3. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg FX 450)
4. Jordan Ashburn (Kawasaki KX450F)
5. Adam Bonneur (Kawasaki KX450F)

Off-Road.com Newsletter
Join our Weekly Newsletter to get the latest off-road news, reviews, events, and alerts!