Burson Wins Again at AMA Hare & Hound Round 3

Mar. 24, 2014 By Mark Kariya
Always a threat in SoCal desert racing, Nick Burson proved he can win the out-of-state races as well, as he did in Idaho for his second consecutive series triumph.

Nick Burson earned his first victory in the AMA/SRT Hare & Hound National Championship Series at round two last month, but he knew some critics might dismiss it as a fluke since it came on his home turf near Ridgecrest, California.
So, he did the only thing that could show he’s more than a one-trick pony by winning round three, the Rabbit Creek 100 hosted by Dirt Inc. near Murphy, Idaho.

Previous 2014 Hare & Hound Races
Round 2

Round 1

“The last one was in my hometown so some people, I think, kind of thought it wasn’t that big a deal so to get [a win] out of [the area], that’s what I really wanted to do,” he explained. “I knew I could win there, but now I wanted to prove to myself I could win other places. The out-of-state races have never been my strong suit—I kind of struggled.”
 After two DNFs at the first two rounds, Jacob Argubright got his season on track with a runner-up finish that saw him take the lead a time or two. A fueling issue that included the old gas-in-the-crotch trick didn’t help, though.

But the Purvines Racing Beta star let others struggle in Idaho, as he put together a nearly flawless race and led almost the entire time: two loops and 100 miles of Idaho sand washes, sage brush, silt and creek crossings.
Second in series points going into the day, Burson finished as the new points leader, thanks to a sub-par result for Ivan Ramirez. Burson is on top with 81 points while the FMF/KTM Factory Off-Road Racing Team star drops to second with 66. Round-one winner Ramirez spent the day trying to break through copious amounts of dust after his bike balked at the start, leaving him in the middle of the pack. He would recover only enough ground to finish 10th.

From left to right: runner-up Jacob Argubright, winner Nick Burson and third-place (after a horrible start) Ricky Brabec.
Conversely, Bel-Ray/FMF/Moose Racing Husqvarna’s Jacob Argubright enjoyed an excellent day. After DNFs at the first two rounds, he not only finished the Rabbit Creek 100, only Burson beat him.
“First is always better, but I’m happy with it,” Argubright mused. “I guess third time is the charm! Hopefully, I can win the next one and keep going.”

Ivan Ramirez stops at a check behind Vet Expert runner-up Joseph Herriman en route to 10th place after a horrible start.
Like Ramirez, Ricky Brabec got a horrible start. In fact, he needed assistance and finally got his THR Motorsports/Monster Energy/Precision Concepts Kawasaki bump-started, obviously well after the rest of the first wave was underway.

Local star David Kamo got a good start from the far right side of the bomb and dropped into third place, but having not raced much after shoulder surgery in December showed itself and he slipped back a bit to eventually finish sixth.
But Brabec put his head down and went to work, weaving his way through the sage and around other riders until got to the main pit at the end of the 60-mile first loop to be informed he was sixth.
For the third round in a row, Ryan Smith won 250cc Expert. He was also the first Expert at ninth overall.

Not content with that, he continued to charge, eventually making it up to third place at the finish where he exclaimed, “I don’t know what I’m doing, but this year is going so good! I’m having fun and doing good.”

Defending Super Mini class champ Jarett Megla ran away to record his first win of the season. He backed that up by winning 200cc Amateur on Sunday.
Burson’s Purvines Racing Beta teammates Justin Morrow and Axel Pearson battled each other for much of the race to finish fourth and fifth, respectively, while local favorite David Kamo returned to the series after almost a year away to finish sixth aboard his girlfriend’s 450 XC-F (although he’ll probably trade her the 300 XC that used to belong to his dad).
 Cole Timboe was third off the line in the Pee Wee race but crashed in the first turn and got going near the back. Four laps later, the defending class champ recovered all of ground he’d lost and won for the first time this season.

Colton Udall—another rider who’s been absent for a long time—finished seventh followed by Skyler Howes, 250cc Expert winner Ryan Smith and Ramirez.

1. Nick Burson (Beta 498 RR)
2. Jacob Argubright (Husqvarna FC 450)
3. Ricky Brabec (Kawasaki KX450F)
4. Justin Morrow (Beta 498 RR)
5. Axel Pearson (Beta 450 RR)
6. David Kamo (KTM 450 XC-F)
7. Colton Udall (Honda CRF450X)
8. Skyler Howes (KTM 300 XC)
9. Ryan Smith (Yamaha YZ250)
10. Ivan Ramirez (KTM 450 XC-F)

Previous 2014 Hare & Hound Races
Round 2

Round 1

Off-Road.com Newsletter
Join our Weekly Newsletter to get the latest off-road news, reviews, events, and alerts!