Creamer Takes Overall Win at Unadilla ATV MX

Jul. 19, 2010 By Press Release
Photo: Mike SalernoNew Berlin, NY - Josh Creamer captured his sixth overall win this season during round nine of the ITP/Moose Racing AMA ATV Motocross Championship presented by Parts Unlimited at Unadilla Valley Sports Center in New Berlin, NY. Creamer was able to take the overall win with 3-1 finishes, and continues to lead points in the chase for the AMA Pro ATV MX Championship. With this win, Creamer lead stretches out to a 30 point advantage over his Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Dustin Wimmer.

Wimmer began his weekend with the honor of the $100 Fastest Qualifier award during timed qualifying. With Wimmer 25 points behind his teammate Creamer headed into this event, he hoped earning the Fastest Qualifier award was sign of things to come, and a chance to make up points in the chase for the championship.

The Suzuki duo may be in front in the points but it was Baldwin Motorsports PEPs Josh Upperman who was in front of the field when he grabbed the $250 holeshot award and the early lead in moto one. Wimmer followed Upperman off the start, while Motoworks Can-Am rider Chad Wienen, and Creamer battled for third. As the race went on, Creamer was able to move into the third spot behind Upperman and Wimmer at the finish.

Motoworks Can-Am rider John Natalie captured the second moto $250 Holeshot Award and the early lead with Creamer close behind on his Suzuki. As Natalie and

Creamer battled for the top spot, Wienen secured the third spot and Jeremy Lawson and Wimmer battled for forth. Wimmer was able to power past Lawson for forth going into the pro section of the Unadilla track, just as Creamer snuck past Natalie for the lead. The battle continued between Natalie and Creamer for the remainder of the race, but it was Creamer who captured the second moto win as well the overall.

"I had a good weekend at Unadilla. I didn't get the first moto start that I wanted but I made up for it by battling hard with John Natalie for the win in the second moto" Creamer said. "The track got pretty rough the second moto, but my Fox Shox got me through it. I'm really happy with the overall."

Wimmer's second and fourth place finishes secured him the second overall, and although he has lost some additional points to his teammate Creamer, he continues to be in the chase for the championship.

"I had a tough weekend," Wimmer said following his second moto. "The first moto I got a good

start and stuck in behind Upperman for second place. But in the second moto, I came out of the first corner in fifth and tried to pass towards the front. The track was really rough, and there wasn't much passing to be made. Now, I'm just going to move on and look to Red Bud for a win."

In the Pro-Am Production class, Joel Hetrick found his way back up front for the two moto sweep and the overall win. Hetrick grabbed the first moto $100 Holeshot award and the early lead over points leader Chase Snapp. In the second moto it was Jeffrey Rastrelli who earned the $100 Holeshot award, and lead the majority of the moto, battling side by side with Hetrick. In just the last few laps, Hetrick snuck by Rastrelli when he made a mistake, and was able to take the 1-1 for the overall win. Snapp continues to lead the points heading into Round 10 of the AMA Pro ATV MX, but now by only 15 points.

The series travels next to Red Bud MX in Buchanan, Michigan for the Round 10 of the AMA Pro ATV MX Championship on July 31- August 1.

For more information, log on to

AMA Pro ATV Results

    * 1. Josh Creamer (Suz) 3-1
    * 2. Dustin Wimmer (Suz) 2-4
    * 3. John Natalie Jr (Can) 5-2
    * 4. Chad Wienen (Can) 4-3
    * 5. Josh Upperman (Hon) 1-9
    * 6. Jeremy Lawson (Suz) 8-5
    * 7. Jeremie Warnia (Can) 7-6
    * 8. Thomas Brown (Yam) 6-7
    * 9. Patrick Brown (Hon) 9-8
    * 10. Cody Grant (Suz) 11-10

AMA ATV Motocross Championship Pro Point Standings

    * 1. Josh Creamer (401); 2. Dustin Wimmer (371); 3. John Natalie Jr (319); 4. Chad Wienen (296); 5. Josh Upperman (296); 6. Thomas Brown (262); 7. Jeremy Lawson (236); 8. Jeremie Warnia (208); 9. Patrick Brown (205); 10. Nick A. Denoble (167) Newsletter
Join our Weekly Newsletter to get the latest off-road news, reviews, events, and alerts!