King Shocks Pro-4 class racers dominated rounds 7 and 8 of the Lucas Oil Offroad racing series held at the beautiful Miller Motorsports Park in Tooele, Utah. It was a clean sweep of the podium for King Shocks taking all three spots at both rounds. Carl Renezeder and Kyle LeDuc each battled fiercely trading places at the top of the podium. Kyle took the win over Carl and third place Adrian “The Wildman” Cenni in round 7 and Carl returned the favor with a win in round 8 over Kyle and third place Kent Brascho. Carl not only picked up his 96th career shortcourse victory but also climbs to the top of the Pro-4 points standings.  Currently Carl leads the point standings in both Pro-4 and Pro-2. “The shock dyno work we have been doing with King is really paying off,” said Team Renezeder crew chief Bill Smith, “suspension control is so important in this type of racing and the conditions are different at every track. Our set-up, our crew and Carl are continuously improving on everything we do. We start every race with the intent to win. Closing in on the magic 100 wins does not really affect the team strategy but the significance is in the back of our minds, it’s a huge accomplishment.”

Kyle leDuc’s win on Saturday, his second in a row, was impressive but his second place finish in Sunday’s round 8 was remarkable, a real testament to never giving up. He got tangled up in a wreck in the early going but managed to work his way up to third spot shortly after the mandatory restart at the midpoint of the race. A spin in turn four then dropped him back to sixth place with only a few laps left. The race was then red flagged for a crash involving Josh Merrel who was uninjured but unable to continue. With Merrel out, Kyle was in fifth with only a three lap, green, white, checkers shootout to the finish. On the green flag lap, Adrian Cenni and Curt LeDuc got together putting them out of contention. Kyle then got around Travis Coyne to come from fifth place to second in just three laps of racing. “I was frustrated after coming from dead last to third and then giving those places back when I spun,” said Kyle, “I was determined to close the gap with Huseman in the points chase and my truck was really hooking up out of the corners. The forward drive gave me more momentum going off the jumps so I passed several guys in the air or on the inside of corners. I hoped to win three in a row but we had to settle for a second on Sunday.”

The battles in the Pro-4 class are getting more and more intense as the season goes on and as Kyle has demonstrated, you can never count anyone out. That’s why we at King Shocks continue to develop new technology and to push the boundaries of shock performance. Our goal is to make you a contender every time you line up to race. King shocks provide the precise adjustability and optimum damping performance you need when the competition is as tough as the track. Nothing else rides like a King.

Photos by:

SCORE International released the official results of the 43rd Tecate SCORE Baja 500, which shook up drivers at the top of the field, most notably the unofficial winners in Pro Motorcycle Colton Udall and David Kamo, who moved behind JCR Honda teammates Kendall Norman and Quinn Cody after receiving penalties.

See more on the official results for the 2011 Tecate SCORE Baja 500 below:

SCORE TROPHY-TRUCK (Unlimited Production Trucks)—1. Bryce Menzies, Las Vegas, Ford F-150, 9:04:52 (49.87 miles per hour); 2. Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas, Ford F-150, 9:17:25; 3. Andy McMillin/Scott McMillin, National City, Calif., Ford F-150, 9:18:01; 4. Nick Vanderwey, Phoenix/Curt LeDuc, Cherry Valley, Calif./Larry Vanderwey, Litchfield Park, Ariz., Chevy Silverado, 9:25:09; 5. Gary Weyhrich/Mark Weyhrich, Troutdale, Ore., Ford F-150, 9:26:59; 6. Tim Herbst, Las Vegas/Larry Roeseler, Boulevard, Calif., Ford F-150, 9:27:23; 7. Rick D. Johnson/Brian Sallee, Barstow, Calif., Ford F-150, 10:16:24;  8. Robby Gordon, Charlotte, N.C., Hummer H3, 10:19:45; 9. Jesse James, Austin, Texas, Chevy Silverado, 10:28:41; 10. Jesse Ashcraft, San Marcos, Calif./Adam Ashcraft, Oceanside, Calif., Ford F-150, 10:36:27;11. Robbie Pierce, Santee, Calif., Ford F-150, 11:04:47;12. Gus Vildosola Jr. /Gus Vildosola Sr., Mexicali, Mexico, Ford F-150, 11:09:08; 13. Kory Scheeler/Brian Collins, Las Vegas, Ford F-150, 11:28:03; 14. Mike Voudouris, Austin, Texas/Billy Goerke, Las Vegas, Ford F-150, 11:29:39; 15. Ken Losch, Tempe, Ariz./Greg Nunley, Tulare, Calif., Chevy Silverado, 11:58:47; 16. Pete Sohren, Glendale, Ariz., Ford F-150, 12:03:51; 17. Adam Householder/Terry Householder, Orange, Calif., Chevy Silverado, 12:04:13; 18. Clyde Stacy, Bristol, Va./Justin Matney, Bristol, Tenn., Chevy Silverado, 12:10:05;  19. Ron Whitton/Chase Dana, Mesa, Ariz., Ford F-150, 12:39:27; 20. Scott Whipple, Scott Gailey, Norco, Calif., Ford F-150, 14:39:56; 21. Jesse Jones, Litchfield Park, Ariz., Ford F-250, 13:44:58 (28 Starters, 21 Finishers);

The Glen Helen round of the Lucas Oil Off-Road Racing Series is always one to get excited about, with much of the industry and many of the key sponsors in the series either wholly based or having a very strong presence in Southern California, and the vast majority of the drivers as well.

This weekend’s racing will mark rounds five and six of the series, which is seeing unprecedented success in 2011, and even though this is true, no one is sitting on their laurels. It’s the second time for the series to visit Glen Helen, and improvements for this year’s event include doubling the seating capacity and streamlining parking to create a better flow for spectators, so they can spend more time watching the racing and visiting with their favorite drivers and vendors.

This weekend’s event will not only include the usual suspects of the Lucas Oil Off-Road Racing Series, such as Brian Deegan, Jeremy “Twitch” Stenberg, Carl Renezeder, Rob MacCachren, Curt Leduc, Rick Huseman, Jeremy McGrath, Jason Ellis, Cameron Steele and more, but also NASCAR star and six-time off-road champ Robby Gordon will be hoping to make his presence known in Pro 2 Unlimited.