AMA-logo-230The American Motorcyclist Association expresses deep regret for the death of multi-time AMA National Champion Kurt Caselli. The reigning champion of the AMA National Hare & Hound Championship Series succumbed to injuries suffered while competing in the Baja 1000 in Baja California, Mexico, on Nov. 15. Caselli was 30 years old.

“Kurt Caselli was one of American desert racing’s finest champions, and his early and untimely death is a major blow to the hearts and minds of all of us who knew him or knew of him,” said AMA President and CEO Rob Dingman. “Caselli was a gracious competitor, a team leader and a fan favorite. His love for motorcycling showed through in everything he did, whether he was leading his fellow racers as the U.S. team captain for the International Six Days Enduro or signing autographs for a young fan. On behalf of the AMA Board of Directors, our staff and AMA members everywhere, we offer our condolences to the family of Kurt Caselli and thank them for sharing with us one of the sport’s finest racers and greatest men.”


BJ Baldwin and co-driver Johnny Nelson earned the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 victory and the season championship.

Monster Energy/Toyo Tires Chevrolet driver BJ Baldwin crossed the finish line first in Ensenanda, Baja California, to earn his second consecutive SCORE Baja 1000 in the early morning hours of November 16. Baldwin faced a tough battle from the team of Rob MacCachren and Andy McMillin down the stretch, but he was able to muster up the energy to fend them off in spite of soloing the entire 883.1 miles of race course for the 2013 1000.

Baldwin came into the race heavy-hearted after an accident in Baja while preparing for the race cost him his beloved dog Xena. It was a long month of personal issues leading up the race and Baldwin said he was not as prepared as he’d like to be, but in spite of that he was able to put all of those issues behind him to earn the win.

Pages: 1 2

The JCR Honda team celebrated the victory at the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 tonight.

The JCR Honda team celebrated the victory at the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 tonight.

For the 17th year in a row, a Honda crossed the finish line first in the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. The Johnny Campbell Racing Honda team of Tim Weigand, Colton Udall, David Kamo and team newcomer Mark Samuels came into the event with a lot of question marks but finished the race with an exclamation point. The team won the overall motorcycle race, covering the 883.1-mile distance in a time of 18 hours, 29 minutes, 14.240 seconds, at an average speed of 47.768 mph.

Racing is well underway after the four-wheeled vehicles left the line this morning for the 46th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. We spoke to a number of the lead Trophy Truck and Class 1 teams this morning about the race and how they felt before leaving the line. Most of them all talked about the difficulty this rough course will present .

Tavo Vildosola, who hopes to earn another Baja 1000 win this year with his Farther Gustavo Sr., knows the importance of this year regardless of the team’s peformacne thus far in 2013.

The legendary Ivan "Ironman" Stewart served as the Grand Marshal for the 2013 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. Photo: Scott Rousseau

The legendary Ivan “Ironman” Stewart served as the Grand Marshal for the 2013 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. Photo: Scott Rousseau

For even casual off-road racing fans, Ivan “Ironman” Stewart needs no introduction. His name rests in the most elite pantheon of competitors who have braved the Baja Peninsula in a quest for glory. With three Baja 1000 wins and an amazing 17 Baja 500 wins, Stewart has more than made his mark in Baja racing’s fabled lore.

BJ Baldwin is entering the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 as the reigning champion, and he hopes to defend his title at this year’s race. But it’s clear Baldwin is not as prepared as he’d like to be. He’s the first to tell you it’s been a rough few months leading up to the race in his personal life, as he lost his beloved dog Xena whom he truly considered part of the family. It was a devastating blow and one he’s still recovering from.

BFGoodrich-Rob-Mac-Baja-1000-11-14-13ENSENADA, MEXICO – This week marks the 46th running of the annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, and BFGoodrich® Tires is ready to continue its dominance of the legendary race. Beginning and ending in Ensenada, the brutally-rugged 883-mile loop race will showcase the widely-acknowledged toughness of the brand’s portfolio of recreational and professional off-road products. In various SCORE classes, racers will mostly use the BFGoodrich® All-Terrain T/A®KO tire, BFGoodrich® Mud-Terrain T/A®KM2, BFGoodrich® Baja T/A®, and BFGoodrich® Baja T/A®KR. A win at the legendary off-road desert race would earn BFGoodrich its 26th title in 28 years of racing.

Team BFGoodrich members Rob MacCachren and Bryce Menzies lead a group of Trophy Truck class drivers looking for the overall title. BFGoodrich has 77 overall victories in SCORE desert racing, including 25 Baja 1000 titles.

UPDATE: As of 8:15 a.m. PST on Friday, November 15, SCORE Ops showed the 2X FMF/Bonanza Plumbing KTM and the 1X JCR Honda together at Race Mile 454. The 349X Honda was at Race Mile 411, and the 4X THR Motorsports/Monster Energy Kawasaki was at Race Mile 402.

FMF Bonanza Plumbing KTM's Kurt Caselli awaits the signal to leave the starting line in Ensenada for the 2013 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. Photo: Scott Rousseau

FMF Bonanza Plumbing KTM’s Kurt Caselli awaits the signal to leave the starting line in Ensenada for the 2013 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. Photo: Scott Rousseau

FMF/Bonanza Plumbing KTM’s Kurt Caselli made a little history right off the starting line at the 2013 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, the 30-year-old becoming the first rider to start the race at night, leaving Ensenada promptly at 11 p.m. to start KTM’s quest for a Baja 1000 victory.

Robby-Gordon-Baja-1000-SCORE-11-14-13Ensenada, B.C., Mexico (November 14, 2013) – Three-time Score Baja 1000 champion Robby Gordon will be joined by co-driver and veteran Score Class 1 Baja competitor Billy Gasper when the 2013 Baja 1000 starts from Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico Friday morning.

This year’s 46th running of the SCORE Baja 1000 features 26 of the world’s best desert racers in the top Trophy Truck division who will navigate the grueling 883-mile course over the span of nearly 24 hours. Gordon, a seven-time Score International Off-Road Champion and a four-time and most recent Baja 500 winner, will start and finish the No. 77 SPEED Energy / Toyo Tires / MAPEI Chevrolet trophy truck, while Gasper will drive in the middle section of the course.

Rob MacCachren

Rob MacCachren will share driving duties with Andy McMillin at this year’s Baja 1000.

87. Eight-seven. 80-7. However you flip it, 87 is a big number, especially when you consider that when the flag drops for the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 it will be Rob MacCachren’s 87th race of the year. A true professional in every sense of the word, MacCachren is always on the hunt for the ever-elusive Baja 1000 victory, but considering he’s sitting third in overall points, a win can potentially wrap up the Trophy Truck Championship for him as well.

Considering the longer-than-usual distance of this year’s Baja 1000 loop race, and the fact that most racers feel it will be a brutal one, MacCachren enlisted the help of some top-flight talent in the form of former Baja 1000 winner Andy McMillin. The two will share driving duties throughout the 883.1 miles, with Rob taking the truck off the line, Andy tackling the middle section, and Rob hopping back in for the finish.