Rob MacCachren Earns 2017 Mint 400 Win

Mar. 06, 2017 By Josh Burns, Photos by Art Eugenio/
Rob MacCachren

Rob MacCachren has had a storied race career up to this point, but the Las Vegas resident has been unable to secure a victory in the biggest race held right in his backyard. In spite of a few very close efforts, it wasn’t until this past Saturday that MacCachren was able to get the monkey off of hits back and earn his first Mint 400 victory.

“It’s good to get this monkey off my back!” MacCachren said on the podium after the race. “It’s been a lot of years racing here I was born and raised in Las Vegas. My first Mint 400 was in 1984.”

Rob MacCachren was happy to finally earn his first Mint 400 overall victory.

Aside from the accolades of finally being a Mint 400 winner for the first time in his 30-year career, MacCachren also took home an impressive price package that included a $10,000 check from BFGoodrich, a $10,000 check from Fox Shox, and a new Polaris RZR. Even with all of the excitement surrounding the race victory, MacCachren made a point to honor and remember Best in the Desert’s Casey Folks who recently passed away earlier this year. During the race, MacCachren ran two American flags on his racetruck as homage to Folks.

Finishing just behind MacCachren was fastest qualifier Jason Voss, who was about a minute behind MacCachren with his time of 5 hours, 38 minutes and 39 seconds. Andy McMillin rounded out the podium in third, and he was especially disappointed since he was holding the lead on the last lap when he had issues.

Andy McMillin

“Well, that was heartbreaking to say the least,” McMillin said on his Instagram (@andymcmillin31). “Had the lead on the last lap at The Mint 400 and cut a tire. The air jack sunk into the sand and it took us awhile to change it and four trucks got around us. We never gave up and pushed hard to the finish but came up short.”

Harley Letner

In the Class 1500 Unlimited Buggy class, Harley Letner, who was the second fastest qualifier overall leading up to the race, earned the class victory. He edged out Pat Dean for the class win, with Dustin Miller rounding out the podium in third.

2017 Mint 400 Photo Gallery

Jason Voss Fastest in Mint 400 Qualifying

2017 Mint 400 Unlimited Class Results
Trick Truck
1. Rob MacCachren
2. Jason Voss
3. Andy McMillin
4. BJ Baldwin
5. Troy Herbst
6. Shawn Croll
7. Bryce Menzies
8. Tim Herbst
9. Eric Hustead
10. Ryan Poelman

Class 1500
1. Harley Letner
2. Pat Dean
3. Dustin Miller
4. Terry Householder
5. Ross Mattox
6. Ladd Gilbert
7. Sam Berri
8. Al Torres
9. Justin Smith
10. Chad Cummings

Class 6100
1. Jonathan Swift
2. Ryan Hancock
3. Scott Yancey
4. PJ Gugielmo
5. John Rhymer
6. Aaron Guthrie
7. Lee Banning Sr.
8. Bill McBeath
9. Chad Dohrman
10. Zak Langley

Class 7200
1. Dallas Luttrell
2. Mike Neff
3. Mike McCarthy
4. Al Hogan
5. Nicole Pitell-Vaughan Newsletter
Join our Weekly Newsletter to get the latest off-road news, reviews, events, and alerts!