MacCahren Earns Win, Championship at BITD Henderson 250

Dec. 03, 2012 By Mike Wilson, Photos by
Rob MacCacachren earned the lead off the line being the fastest in qualifying.

The Henderson 250 was the final race of Best in the Desert’s six-race series for 2012. For this race, BITD split up the racers into three groups. The first group consisted of bikes, quads and UTVs that tackled a 45-mile loop three times. The second group included all the limited trucks and buggies that competed on an 80-mile loop twice. The third group was made up of the faster trucks and buggies, including the Trick Trucks and Class 1500 Unlimited Buggies, racing an 80-mile loop three times for the championship.

Justin Lofton roosting his way to second place qualifier.

Ray Griffith qualified third.

To kick off every BITD race weekend, the Trick Trucks and Class 1500 Unlimited Buggies go through qualifying to see who is the fastest on the time trials course to determine starting positions on race day. First place went to the rockstar himself Rob MacCachren, which earned him first off the line in dust-free air on race day. This was big since Mark Weyhrich was very close in the point battle for the Trick Truck Championship.

BJ Baldwin smashing his way to fourth place in qualifying.

NASCAR driver Justin Lofton came in a hair-splitting second place and first in Class 1500 with only a .20-second time difference separating he and MacCachren. Ray Griffith took third and was second in Class 1500. Fan favorite “Ballistic” BJ Baldwin started fourth off the line on race day and second in the Trick Truck Class.

Next Page... BITD Henderson 250 Newsletter
Join our Weekly Newsletter to get the latest off-road news, reviews, events, and alerts!