Dempsey, Herder Score Baja 1000 Class 1 Victory

Nov. 22, 2008 By Josh Burns
Unlimited Buggy Champions


Chucky Dempsey and John Herder crossed to finish line to earn the 2008 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 class win in their 101 Jefferies-Chevy buggy with an overall time of 14 hours, 59 minutes and 57 seconds. The team finished just over 16 minutes faster than the second-place Class 1 team in the 118 Alpha Performance-Chevy car of Harley Letner and Kory Halopoff.

Some speculated that the tight, technical sections of the 631-mile course might give the Class 1s a shot at the overall title, but that wasn’t the case at this year’s Baja 1000, as Dempsey and Herder finished 2 hours, 19 minutes and 24 seconds behind overall four-wheel winner Roger Norman and Larry Roeseler.

Rounding out the top three in Class 1 was the 117 Jimco-Chevy buggy of Ron Brant, Richard Boyle and Tom Kirkmeyer, who finished the race in 15 hours, 28 minutes and 15 seconds. It appears that ninth-place-finisher BJ Richardson, who entered the 1000 with the overall points lead in the class, earned enough points to secure the Class 1 points championship.

Here are the finishing times of the top 10 Class 1 racers:

1. Chuck Dempsey/John Herder, 14:59:57

2. Harley Letner/Kory Halopoff, 15:16:53

3. Ron Brant/Richard Boyle/Tom Kirkmeyer, 15:28:15

4. Rod Bruce/Mark Witte, 16:02:12

5. Brian Robinson/Beau Robinson/Travis Robinson, 18:04:49

6. Luis Ramirez Jr./Carlos Sanchez/Luis Ramirez, 19:08:44

7. Josh Rigsby/Tony Murray/Randy Ross, 19:25:31

8. Brian Parkhouse/Tom Ridings, 20:05:09

9. BJ Richardson/Mark Weyrich/TJ Flores, 20:31:25

10. Armin Schwarz/Martin Christensen, 22:38:26 Newsletter
Join our Weekly Newsletter to get the latest off-road news, reviews, events, and alerts!