Irvine, Calif.
– The excitement of the 2014 Monster Energy Supercross season carried into Round 2 at Chase Field in Phoenix, Ariz., on Saturday as Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto fought to his first win of the season. With the main event win, his first in Phoenix, the reigning champion took over the championship points lead and will return to running his familiar red number plates. Jake Weimer bounced back from a rough opening round to win his heat race but an early collision with another rider in the main event saw him finish 18th.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson once again established himself as one of the fastest riders in qualifying and captured his first heat race win of 2014. In the main event Wilson started within the top-10 and worked his way forward to battle for the podium, ultimately finishing fourth. Justin Hill had a strong heat race for the second consecutive week finishing third and despite a crash in the main, he finished a respectable eighth. Darryn Durham was forced to qualify from the Last Chance Qualifier and finished 14th.