When the dust settled after a long 2012 6-race Best In The Desert season, seven KC sponsored Dirt Tribe athletes sat at the top in their respective classes. No other lighting manufacturer even came close. Since 1970, when KC pretty much invented the off-road lighting industry, the top names in off-road racing have chosen KC HiLiTES to light their way to victory.

Leading the KC Dirt Tribe championship charge was the Trick Truck team of Steve Sourapas and Rob MacCachren in their Geiser Bros. built Ford truck. It was a tight battle that was finally settled at the Henderson “250” just south of Henderson, NV. Doing the driving duties at this race, Rob MacCachren started the weekend off right by winning the “Team Ford” Pole Award at the time trials. Starting in front, Rob fell briefly to second place on corrected time, but then reclaimed the lead to take first overall for the race and the Trick Truck Class Championship by a close 3 points margin of victory.

La Paz Racing took on the last and final round of the Best In The Desert (BITD) racing series in Jean, Nevada (15 miles north of the California/Nevada boarder) for the Transwest Ford Henderson 250.

Although the championship had already been decided for the La Paz Racing team for the third consecutive year, they made it a personal goal to go out and leave it all on the racecourse and leave no rock unturned.  They didn’t just want to win the championship; they wanted to win every race possible.  After three years and thirteen wins, they were looking to add number fourteen to the list at the BITD Transwest Ford Henderson 250.

The Henderson “250” marked the end of a great season for the world’s largest off-road racing series, Best In The Desert. With many class championships still yet to be decided, 173 racers showed up to take on the challenging course just south of Henderson, Nevada.

The race was split up into three groups, with the first group of motorcycles, quads and UTV’s starting the day by going two laps on a 45-mile course. The THR Motorsports team of Robby Bell and David Pearson, with Pearson doing solo duties this weekend, took the overall and open pro motorcycle win. This also secured the season class championship for them. Nick Nelson and Keith Carlson captured the victory in pro quad class and Matt Parks claimed the Pro UTV class win.

La Paz Racing made their way to Parker Arizona for the Blue Water Desert Challenge hosted by The Best In The Desert racing organization. La Paz Racing went into the 2-day event leading the 8100 class in overall championship points for the 2012 BITD season.

Driver of the 8108 La Paz Racing Ford F-250 Tim Casey and co-rider Bill Rante took on the multi loop race with one goal in mind; winning.  Unlike other races that take place through out the year in the Best In The Desert racing series, the Blue Water Desert Challenge is an extremely demanding 150 mile two-day event. It’s a sprint race, but in order to finish first you must first finish.