Red Bull KTM Factory rider Taddy Blazusiak finished third at the opening round of the AMA EnduroCross Series at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas on Friday night while KTM Factory FMF/KTM rider Taylor Robert took fifth.

Webb-EX-Vegas-Final-Men-Podium-11-25-13Las Vegas, NV – The 2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship, fueled by Monster Energy came down the final race and Taddy Blazusiak and Mike Brown engaged in an epic battle for several laps before Brown went down and ultimately finished ninth. Blazusiak finished fifth to secure his fifth consecutive championship. “That was probably the worst race in my life but it was all about me and Brownie” Blazusiak said. “We got together in the first turn and then again in the second turn and it went from race mode to crazy mode. We must have hit fifteen times but we got it done to win the fifth title” he continued.

Beta’s Cody Webb won the Vegas finale to take his third win of the season, more than any other rider. Webb missed one race due to a broken foot but still finished third in the championship. “I am ecstatic right now. I had a great season except for that little setback” Webb said. “The track tonight was insane but I loved it”. Webb crossed the finish line in eleventh on the first lap but quickly moved to fourth due to a huge pile up on the second lap that included Brown, Blazusiak and David Knight. Webb took his time passing Cory Graffunder, Kyle Redmond and Geoff Aaron and took the lead on lap six of twelve. He slowly opened up a comfortable lead and ultimately won by five seconds.

Denver, CO – Red Bull KTM rider Taddy Blazusiak led every lap of the fifth round of the AMA EnduroCross Series to take the win in front of a packed stadium at the National Western Complex. His KTM teammate, Factory FMF/KTM rider, Mike Brown, earned the final podium spot with a 3rd place result.

Blazusiak set the bar in the late afternoon after earning the fastest lap time in the hot lap session. Brown also turned a decent time during the hot laps to earn the fifth fastest time of the evening.

Ontario, CA – The 2011 GEICO AMA EnduroCross series, presented by Lucas Oil made a first time stop at the Citizens Business Bank Arena in Ontario, California and KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak took the win in front of a large, enthusiastic crowd. Lucas Oil backed Colton Haaker took second ahead of factory Beta backed Cody Webb. Kyle Redmond finished fourth and Geoff Aaron finished fifth.

The afternoon got started with the 30 Expert riders doing a single lap against the clock running in reverse order of the current point standings to determine gate picks for the heat races. There is a lot of bragging rights on the line and Blazusiak was the final rider to take the track and set the fast time ahead of Mike Brown and Haaker.

Blazusiak, Brown and Aaron each won their heat races to take the best gate picks for the main event. Wally Palmer was among the top riders not make the main after a nasty tumble during his heat race. Jacob Argubright, Kevin Rookstool, Ryan Sandoval and Matt Oppen were among the other riders to miss the cut for the main event.

Blazusiak jumped to the front of the field at the start followed closely by Aaron and Haaker. Aaron stalled his bike on the first lap and then Haaker immediately closed in on Blazusiak and stayed close for the first half of the race before slowly losing touch. Redmond, Gary Sutherlin and Webb were equally close to Haaker and it appeared that any one of them could have taken second before Haaker started to pull a little gap. Sutherlin made a mistake to fall from contention and Webb applied pressure to Redmond to finally make the pass just before the white flag; taking the final podium spot. Aaron managed to work his way back up to fifth ahead of Monster Kawasaki’s Justin Soule. Sutherlin held on for sixth ahead of Brown, who had a pretty tough main event and lost a lot of ground to Taddy in the championship after coming into this event in second. Keith Sweeten, the youngster from Oregon finished ninth ahead of Destry Abbott and Rory Sullivan, who is a very accomplished Motocross and Off Road rider made his first main event after three years of trying finished 11th after a big crash in the rocks.

In addition to the Expert class, EnduroCross events include Open Amateur, Vet 35+ and TrialsCross classes. The top two finishers in each class also earn a spot in the Vegas Grand Championship Finals for each respective class. The Vet class was won by Todd Sciaqua over Kurt Nicoll and Baja Legend Johnny Campbell. The Amateur class was won by Eric Rhoten with Matt Crouch and Max Gerston rounding out the podium. The TrialsCross class had an amazing finish with Andrew Oldar making a last second pass on Mike Damm that ended with both of them crashing as they crossed the finish line. Twelve year old Ty Cullins took third.

GEICO AMA EnduroCross, Presented by Lucas Oil Ontario, California Expert Main Event Results

  1. Taddy Blazusiak
  2. Colton Haaker
  3. Cody Webb
  4. Kyle Redmond
  5. Geoff Aaron
  6. Justin Soule
  7. Gary Sutherlin
  8. Mike Brown
  9. Keith Sweeten
  10. Destry Abbott
  11. Rory Sullivan

Denver, Colorado will be the next stop for the GEICO AMA EnduroCross series on Saturday, October 1st. This is the home race for Geoff Aaron and the GEICO Honda rider won the event last year.

Tickets information is available at www.EnduroCross.com.