Somerset, Pa. -Charlie Mullins claimed his second win in a row and fourth of the year with an impressive runaway performance at the VP Racing Fuels Mountain Ridge GNCC in Somerset, Pennsylvania on Sunday.

After the start, the 11th round of the 2011 Can-Am Grand National Cross Series appeared to be a five-man affair as Mullins battled with his FMF/KTM teammate Kailub Russell, FMF/Makita Suzuki’s Josh Strang, WMR Racing/Clockwork/Planet Fitness KTM’s Nate Kanney and Am Pro Racing/FMF Yamaha’s Paul Whibley. However, heading into the second lap, Mullins, Russell and Strang made a break from the pack – with Russell holding the upper hand.

Near the halfway point of the race, Mullins took the lead from Russell and then later pulled a considerable gap when Russell took a hard fall in the rocks. After that, it was all Mullins, as the Ohio rider decided it was time to check out.

“Me, Kailub and Strang had our own little battle going,” said Mullins. “One of us would fall down and someone else would get the lead, and it was kind of like that for most of the day. But I kind of broke away during the next-to-last lap and I came through the barrels and looked back and I didn’t see anyone so I figured I had a good lead so I just dropped my head and was pushing pretty hard… I didn’t take any chances but I rode hard.”

Somerset, PA -Brian Wolf took advantage of a late race mistake by Adam McGill to take a thrilling win at the VP Racing Fuels Mountain Ridge GNCC in Somerset, Pennsylvania – round 11 of the 2011 Can-Am Grand National Cross Series.

For most of the two-hour race, no less than five riders were in contention for the overall victory. However, it was McGill who led the most laps, taking the early lead after making first-lap passes on Wolf and $250 Holeshot Award winner Taylor Kiser. McGill’s Foremost Insurance/Warnert Racing Can-Am teammate Chris Bithell was among the front-runners, along with Kiser on the Ballance Racing Yamaha, Wolf on a GT Thunder-backed Honda and series points leader Chris Borich on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki, as McGill led the pack through one of the toughest courses of the year.

The battle for the lead heated up when Wolf passed McGill halfway into the final lap. However, the XC1 rookie got stuck behind a lapper with two miles to go, allowing McGill retake the lead. At that point, McGill looked to have his third win of the year all wrapped up; however, a half-mile later the West Virginia rider clipped a tree and watched helplessly as Wolf took the lead and eventually the win.

RPM/KTM rider Maria Forsberg claimed her eighth win of the season and her second career championship in the Women’s class at the eleventh round of the Grand National Cross Country Series held in Somerset, PA.

Forsberg not only won the Women’s series, she dominated the series. At the weekend’s Mountain Ridge GNCC she finished 2nd overall in the morning class while winning the Women’s class finishing over 17 minutes ahead of the 2nd place rider.

The 4-time WORCS Champion, now 2-time GNCC Champion and X-Game Women’s EnduroCross Gold medalist has proven to be one of the best decorated and versatile athletes in the sport of women’s off-road motorcycle racing.

Her championship in the 2011 GNCC Series comes to her two rounds early as a result of her impressive eight race win streak this season. “It feels really good to wrap up the championship early. I did not expect to dominate the way I have this season and I am so grateful that I had the RPM/KTM Team behind me to help me win this championship. My KTM 250 XC-F has held up through every race this season and we never had any mechanical issues. I am looking forward to riding more relaxed the next two rounds and perhaps racing in the afternoon class at one of them to see where I end up,” remarked Forsberg.

Overall Results –

1)     Maria Forsberg – KTM

2)     Ashley Crouch – HON

3)     Leeann Bange – YAM

4)     Samantha Steiner – KTM

5)     Rachel Gutish – KTM


Overall Point Standings –

1)     Maria Forsberg – 160

2)     Ashley Crouch – 138

3)     Leeann Bange – 132

4)     Mandi Mastin – 120

5)     Nina Cobb – 117