Endurocross-Podium-9-24-13Ontario, CA – KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak took an exciting win at round three of the 2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross series, fueled by Monster Energy and presented by Lucas Oil in Ontario, California. Mike Brown led for five laps and looked poised to take his third EnduroCross win in a row until a small mistake allowed Blazusiak to take the lead. Beta’s Cody Webb rode a steady race and kept the leaders in sight to take the final podium position.

Brown, JCR Honda’s Colton Haaker and Blazusiak were the three heat race winners but the new night time hot lap format decides the main event gate picks: Haaker set the fastest time over Webb, Blazusiak and Brown. Taylor Robert was the big loser as a crash relegated him to a second row starting position.

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Ryan Dungey finished third overall on the KTM 450  in the opening round of the 2013 SX season at Anaheim on Saturday night and Germany’s Ken Roczen scored a podium second in the SX Lites West riding the KTM 250. In 2013 Marvin Musquin is contesting the SX Lites East competition.

While Dungey had solid practice times and survived several spills in his heat race to finish sixth to qualify for the main event of the night. He got off to a better start in the main and rounded the first corner in fourth to begin a four-rider battle for the lead with Davi Millsaps, Trey Canard and Justin Barcia. Dungey pressured Barcia for third for the first ten laps but when in striking distance he again when down in a small crash and lost some ground and valuable time. Then in the next lap it was Barcia who crashed and Dungey moved into third and held on to the podium spot to the checkered flag..

KTM Motorsports has announced that former MX2 World Champions Marvin Musquin and Ken Roczen have both been given a new two-year contract with the US Red Bull/KTM Factory Racing Team.

This news is announced just as Musquin, a two-time MX2 World Champion, achieved the highlight of his U.S. racing career with the overall win in the 250 Motocross class at Unadilla Raceway. His teammate, Ken Roczen, also earned a career first after taking a 250 Motocross class win in the first moto at Unadilla.

River Ranch, Fla. – Three hours of rough, sandy whooped out trails could not separate Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Title contenders Paul Whibley and Charlie Mullins. They battled down to the finish-and into sheer exhaustion-at the opening round of the 2012 season, the Moose Racing Westgate River Ranch GNCC in Florida.

Ultimately Am-Pro Yamaha Racing’s Whibley, who finished a close second to Mullins in the 2011 title chase, grabbed the win by just six tenths of a second. Mullins, completely spent, collapsed off of his FMF KTM as he crossed the finish line in second. Fast behind them came XC2 Pro Lites winner Steward Baylor on his KTM 250 two-stroke. Much pre-season buzz centered around the 17-year-old Baylor’s attempt to win a race overall on his 250, and his Florida performance did not disappoint.

Last year, Mullins scored the first GNCC Title for an American-born rider since 2004. This year he appears to be up against stiff overseason competition again, with New Zealand’s Whibley joined by another Kiwi, WMR/KTM’s Rory Mead, who finished a strong third in the XC1 class and fourth in overall time behind Baylor.

Whibley grabbed the $250 Motosport.com Holeshot Award with Mullins close in tow. Whibley established himself early on and set the pace against a varied field of competitors. Riders such as Mullins, Mead, FMF/KTM’s Kailub Russell and Florida favorite Garrett Edmisten fought for the lead, but Whibley responded to each challenge.

RPM/KTM rider Maria Forsberg claimed her eighth win of the season and her second career championship in the Women’s class at the eleventh round of the Grand National Cross Country Series held in Somerset, PA.

Forsberg not only won the Women’s series, she dominated the series. At the weekend’s Mountain Ridge GNCC she finished 2nd overall in the morning class while winning the Women’s class finishing over 17 minutes ahead of the 2nd place rider.

The 4-time WORCS Champion, now 2-time GNCC Champion and X-Game Women’s EnduroCross Gold medalist has proven to be one of the best decorated and versatile athletes in the sport of women’s off-road motorcycle racing.

Her championship in the 2011 GNCC Series comes to her two rounds early as a result of her impressive eight race win streak this season. “It feels really good to wrap up the championship early. I did not expect to dominate the way I have this season and I am so grateful that I had the RPM/KTM Team behind me to help me win this championship. My KTM 250 XC-F has held up through every race this season and we never had any mechanical issues. I am looking forward to riding more relaxed the next two rounds and perhaps racing in the afternoon class at one of them to see where I end up,” remarked Forsberg.

Overall Results –

1)     Maria Forsberg – KTM

2)     Ashley Crouch – HON

3)     Leeann Bange – YAM

4)     Samantha Steiner – KTM

5)     Rachel Gutish – KTM


Overall Point Standings –

1)     Maria Forsberg – 160

2)     Ashley Crouch – 138

3)     Leeann Bange – 132

4)     Mandi Mastin – 120

5)     Nina Cobb – 117