mullins-KTM-ISDE-10-9-13Sardinia, Italy – The USA Trophy Team earned 2nd overall at the International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) held on the island of Sardinia. This marked the first 2nd place position for Team USA since 1982.

The six-rider team consisted of KTM riders Kurt Caselli, Mike Brown and Charlie Mullins as well as Thad Duvall, Zach Osborne and Taylor Robert. The team members started off on day one with great times and remained consistent throughout the week with top results.

At the end of day five, the team was sitting in 2nd position and just needed a few good motocross results in order to secure their podium position. Osborne went out and won the first E1 moto, Mullins secured 3rd overall in the E2 class and Brown finished the day off with a moto win in the E3 segment to clinch the 2nd place position for the team.

MEO-Isde-KTM-Day-one-10-1-13World E1 Champion Antoine Meo made a solid start to the Sardegna ISDE 2013 on Monday after settling in to ride in the E3 class in place of injured KTM factory teammate Christophe Nambotin. The Six Days classic is being held on the Italian island of Sardinia.

Meo was riding with Johnny Aubert, Pela Renet and Jeremy Joly on Day One for the title-holding French team, which led USA and Australia in the World Trophy by more than a minute at the end of competition. Italy, Spain and Britain were ranked in that order.

With Meo easing himself in the E3 class riding Nambotin’s KTM 300 EXC, the day’s top individual rider in the World Trophy was Australian Daniel Milner. KTM Factory Team boss Fabio Farioli confirmed Meo only had a chance to test the bike the day before competition started. He said he expected him to be faster as the week continues. Although new to the bike, Meo still topped E3 and was third fastest overall on Day One, trailing Milner by just six seconds. Meo also won tests four and five (of six tests) on the opening day. French teammate Johnny Aubert of the KTM Factory team was third in the E2 class and fourth overall at the end of day one. KTM’s Spanish factory riders Cristobal Guerrero was second fastest E1 rider and  Ivan Cervantes finished fourth in E2.