2016 SCORE Baja 1000

Rob MacCachren earns his third straight victory at the SCORE Baja 1000. Photo: GETSOMEphoto.com

The 49th running of the SCORE Baja 1000 completed this past weekend, with Rob MacCachren earning his third straight overall and Trophy Truck victory at the race. MacCachren partnered with Jason Voss to secure the victory on the 854.5-mile course that began and ended in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico.

Although results are still unofficial, it appears Rob MacCachren, Andy McMillin and Jason Voss have won the 2014 SCORE Baja 1000. Val Douglas/GETSOMEphoto.com

Although results are still unofficial, it appears Rob MacCachren, Andy McMillin and Jason Voss have won the 2014 SCORE Baja 1000. Photo: GETSOMEphoto.com

According to SCORE International, the dream team of Rob MacCachren, Andy McMillin and Jason Voss have won the 2014 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, though results are still unofficial pending SCORE review. After qualifying as the second fastest Trophy Truck last week in Las Vegas, MacCachren and team used the clean air to their advantage to win the 1,275-mile race in the No. 11 Ford F-150 Trophy Truck.

BJ Baldwin is the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 Trophy Truck winner. Photo: GETSOMEphoto.com

BJ Baldwin is the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 Trophy Truck winner. Photo: GETSOMEphoto.com

After 883.1 miles of brutal Baja terrain, the racers finished (or didn’t finish) the 46th SCORE Baja 1000 yesterday. Although a few penalties were assessed across a number of classes, it doesn”t appear to impact the premier classes. BJ Baldwin is officially the 2o13 SCORE Baja 1000 Trophy Truck winner, Timmy Weigand and JCR Honda earned the pro motorcycle win, Damen Jefferies the Class 1 victory, and there’s more specific results below.

BJ-Baldwin-Results-Johnny-Nelson-2013-SCORE-Baja-1000-11-16-13A great number of racers are still in the race, but quite a few finishers have come across the line already for the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 here in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico. Although race results are still unofficial pending official SCORE review, BJ Baldwin has been named the unofficial winner of the Trophy Truck class and the season class champion, Timmy Weigand, Colton Udall, David Kamo and Mark Samuels won Pro Motorcycle, Damen Jefferies earned the win in Class 1 (though it appears Cody Parkhouse earned the season championship), and Adolfo Arellano was the first ATV to cross the finish line.

More results to follow and they come in. Racers listed in order of time of race completion.

LA PAZ, Mexico – BFGoodrich Tires, the official tire of the SCORE International Off Road Racing Series, today captured its 26th overall SCORE Baja 1000 title in 27 years with Mexico’s own Vildosola Racing behind the wheel becoming the first-ever Mexican national team to have ever won the SCORE Baja 1000 for the second time.  Vildosola Racing’s Gustavo Vildosola, his son Tavo Vildosola along with co-driver Javi Valenzuela finished the grueling 1,121.55 mile race on the tough 39 inch BFGoodrich Baja T/A® KR tires with a time of 19 hours and 44 minutes with an average speed of 56.787 miles per hour, one of the fastest completion times on record. BFGoodrich Tires also claimed nine of the top 10 overall finisher positions.

“We started in 24th position with a lot of trucks in front of us and passing them was near impossible, but this team did it and I am so proud of what they put into this race and season. We’re taking home this victory for Mexico but couldn’t do it without our sponsors and our incredible BFGoodrich tires which took us home to the finish line,” said winning BFGoodrich Driver, Gustavo Vildosola.

After leaving the starting line in Ensenada on Thursday at about noon, the All German Motorsports #15 Trophy Truck crossed the finish line in La Paz on Friday evening after 8 p.m. It was a long and tiring day for the crew, as torque converter issues created a major delay for the team before the main driver change in San Ignacio.

Yet the team persevered and made it to the finish in La Paz. Although they didn’t get the finish they were looking for, it was still an accomplishment to push this relatively new vehicle to the limits in an 1100-mile race.

When we last updated, the All German Motorsports team was hundreds of miles into the race. The #105 Class 1 was running in the top five in class, and the Trophy Truck had worked its way near the top 10 in class. Everything was going well leading to the driver’s change at San Ignacio at race mile 615 (of 1121). That’s when Baja struck.

In Trophy Truck, Armin Schwarz had moved into the 11th spot (physically, without corrected time being calculated) after starting 31st and having at least one flat tire after hitting a large rock very near the start of the race. At about race mile 580, roughly 35 miles from the driver’s change where Martin Christensen would jump in, the truck began to lose oil pressure.

The 2011 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 is nearly in the record books. SCORE officials say 278 racers took the starting line for the 44th running of the 1000. Although race results are unofficial pending SCORE data tracking review, racers for many of the premiere classes have already crossed the finish line.

Andy and Scott McMillin earned the overall four-wheel win and Trophy Truck victory with a time of 14:51:36 (hours, minutes, seconds), holding off the first Trophy Truck team of Nick Vanderwey, Larry Vanderwey and Curt LeDuc off on corrected time by 1 minute, 35 seconds in second place. Finishing in third place, and earning the SCORE Trophy Truck Championship for the 2011 season, is Bryce Menzies, who drove with Ricky Johnson for the race. Menzies and Johnson finished 2 minutes, 27 seconds behind Vanderwey.

Finishing first in Class 1 and earning the SCORE season championship at the same time was the 149 Green Army Motorsports buggy of Justin Davis, who finished 10th overall with a time of 16:17:55. Ronny Wilson earned second place finishing just under 10 minutes behind Davis at 16:27:31. Third place in class went o Brian Parkhouse with a time of 17:16:13.