Murrieta, CA
– The Caselli family would like to invite all family, friends and fans of Kurt Caselli to honor Kurt’s life in a special Memorial Ride Day held at Glen Helen Raceway on December 6, 2013 from 10:00am to 3:00pm.

Coastal-Racing-THUMB-Baja-1000-11-21-13Minneapolis – The Baja 1000 is a true test of a machine and driver and Polaris sent three race teams to the line to conquer the epic race.  It would be a true test of the RZRs ability and durability, and, in the end, Coastal Racing, Jagged X and Cognito Racing would be three of the five in the UTV Pro Class to finish the grueling race.

Coastal Racing would take on their first-ever Baja 1000 with drivers Scott Kiger, Mark Holz and RJ Anderson; and co-drivers Rob Utendorfer, Tyler King and Brian McLean. The Coastal Racing No. 1934 RZR would be the first in the UTV Pro Class to cross the finish line. The race would take Coastal Racing 27 hours and almost 17 minutes to complete.

Vision-X-Baja-1000-Off-Road-11-21-13Algona, WA – Racers using Vision X Lighting outshine the rigors and darkness of the the 46th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 to claim multiple class wins and class championships.

The grueling yet majestic terrain in Baja California, Mexico put 251 starters to the ultimate test of man and machine as they forged through over 900 miles of mountains, deserts, deep sand washes, dry lake beds, silt beds, mud holes and cactus fields. After 18 hours of continual punishment the first finishers began cross the finish line, and after over 35 hours less than half of the starters would see the checkered flag.

Arredondo-Haines-Baja-1000-11-20-13Lake Elsinore, CA – November 20, 2013 – The 2013 running of the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 marked the 10th time Francisco Arredondo has been a part of the world-class race, and the third time he has celebrated a Baja 1000 win. But this time it was also the best overall finish for the Guatemala based global adventurer, who helped lead his BREMEN/Chris Haines Off-Road team to third overall (motorcycle) and the Class 30 win!

Rider of record Arredondo was joined by a team of very fast Baja racing veteran including Cycle World editor Ryan Dudek, Shane Esposito, Brian Pinard, Scott Meyers and, of course, Chris Haines in competing in the 883-mile Baja 1000. Aboard the #349X Jimmy Holley-prepped Honda CRF450X, the team skillfully navigated the rugged course, and recorded a nearly flawless race, with not so much as a broken spoke on their way to the finish line in Ensenada.

THUMB-BJ-Baldwin-SCORE-Baja-1000-11-19-13CYPRESS, CALIFORNIA – Toyo Tires and Team Toyo racer BJ Baldwin scored their second consecutive Baja 1000 victory and second consecutive SCORE Overall Point Championship this weekend at the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000.  Baldwin “iron-manned” the race, driving the entire 883.1-mile course on his own.  His Monster Energy / Toyo Tires Chevy Silverado trophy truck was equipped with Toyo Open Country M/T-R tires.

Both starting and finishing in the port city of Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico; this year’s winding course was highly technical with 251 competitors dealing with massive fields of rocks and continuous obstacles.  Baldwin finished first for the four-wheel vehicles with a time of 18:36:10.

“This year’s Baja 1000 was the most difficult race I’ve ever done.  Mentally and physically it was just a brutal race especially since I drove the entire race myself. Most teams have two or three drivers,” said Baldwin.  “All of the other teams had at least one flat and most had several flats. Thanks to our Toyo’s we didn’t get any flats which helped us conserve our energy. We didn’t have to get out of the truck to change tires. We couldn’t have won this race without our high performance Toyo Open Country M/Ts.”

Lovell-Team-BFGoodrich-Baja-1000-11-18-13Colorado Springs, CO 11/18/2013 – The Baja 1000 is typically seen as trophy trucks jumping over rises lined with spectators, slamming through whoops, and speeding down tight roads. Is this reality? Absolutely. The race is so broad however, that this is only a glimpse of the real experience.

The true essence of the Baja 1000 takes years to grasp. There are high speed roads, bone jarring rocks, narrow shelf roads, oceans of silt, and even pavement. The key is to know when to push hard, when to protect the car, and when to forget speed and focus on survival. Exhaustion and bizarre sights make the memories dreamlike. This is the ultimate endurance challenge of man and machine.

BJ Baldwin is the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 Trophy Truck winner. Photo:

BJ Baldwin is the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 Trophy Truck winner. Photo:

After 883.1 miles of brutal Baja terrain, the racers finished (or didn’t finish) the 46th SCORE Baja 1000 yesterday. Although a few penalties were assessed across a number of classes, it doesn”t appear to impact the premier classes. BJ Baldwin is officially the 2o13 SCORE Baja 1000 Trophy Truck winner, Timmy Weigand and JCR Honda earned the pro motorcycle win, Damen Jefferies the Class 1 victory, and there’s more specific results below.

Kurt Caselli was leading the race at the time of his crash. Although booby trap rumors spread throughout the Internet, the KTM team believes he may have hit a small animal. Photo:

Kurt Caselli was leading the race at the time of his crash. Although booby trap rumors spread throughout the Internet, the KTM team believes he may have hit a small animal. Photo:

Numerous media outlets have reported Kurt Caselli died last night while racing in the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000, but until recently the details have been unclear. Although all the specifics are still being pieced together, 30-year-old Caselli did pass away during a racing accident last night at approximately race mile 792.

BJ-Baldwin-Results-Johnny-Nelson-2013-SCORE-Baja-1000-11-16-13A great number of racers are still in the race, but quite a few finishers have come across the line already for the 2013 SCORE Baja 1000 here in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico. Although race results are still unofficial pending official SCORE review, BJ Baldwin has been named the unofficial winner of the Trophy Truck class and the season class champion, Timmy Weigand, Colton Udall, David Kamo and Mark Samuels won Pro Motorcycle, Damen Jefferies earned the win in Class 1 (though it appears Cody Parkhouse earned the season championship), and Adolfo Arellano was the first ATV to cross the finish line.

More results to follow and they come in. Racers listed in order of time of race completion.

SCORE-Logo-12-20-11ENSENADA, Mexico—SCORE International, a desert racing sanctioning body based in Reno, Nev., has confirmed that American motorcycle star Kurt Caselli tragically lost his life Friday as a result of injuries sustained during a late-race accident at the SCORE Baja 1000 being held in Mexico’s Baja California.

One of the best-liked and respected personalities in American desert racing, Caselli, 30, of Palmdale, Calif., died of serious trauma incurred when he apparently lost control of his KTM motorcycle in a sandy, high-speed section at approximate race-mile 792 while his team was leading in the late stages of the 883.1-mile international desert race.