RENO, Nev.
— After 2,315.8 dusty and grueling desert racing miles, 12 of the world’s best desert racers have survived the challenge of the five-race 2014 SCORE World Desert Championship to earn coveted 2014 SCORE Milestone Awards. The 12 drivers, competing in seven different Pro classes for cars and trucks, earned their prestigious honors by finishing every required mile in the World’s foremost Desert Racing Series. The 2014 SCORE World Desert Championship ended recently with the 47th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 peninsula run from Ensenada to La Paz, Mexico.

All 12 drivers of record will receive their special awards Saturday, Dec. 13 at the SCORE Tech Shop in El Cajon, just east of San Diego, during the annual SCORE Awards Night celebration of 41 years of SCORE desert racing honoring the 2014 SCORE World Desert Championship class point champions and the winners of the 2014 SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year awards.

Leading the way with 2014 SCORE Milestone Awards are two racers in the featured SCORE Trophy Truck division, one in Class 1 for unlimited open-wheel desert-race cars, one in Class 10 for 1650cc open-wheelers, three in Class 1/2-1600 for single or two-seat open wheelers powered by 1600cc VW engines and Class 19 for stock UTVs. The total of 12 winners is the fewest since 2003 when nine racers won the award.

The two drivers in SCORE Trophy Truck, the featured racing division for high-tech, 850-horsepower unlimited production trucks who completed all 2,315.8 required race miles of the 2014 season are: Steven Eugenio, Carlsbad, Calif. (SCORE Trophy Truck, No. 7 Chevy Silverado) and Clyde Stacy, Bristol, Va. (SCORE Trophy Truck, No. 5 Chevy Rally Truck).

SCORE is presenting these prestigious awards to the world’s toughest desert racers for the 29th consecutive year. The SCORE Milestone awards are going to those pro car and truck drivers who finished every required mile in the 2014 SCORE World Desert Championship, the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Series.

“SCORE is privileged to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers,” said Roger Norman, SCORE CEO/President. “For nearly three decades, SCORE has been very pleased to present the SCORE Milestone Awards to the toughest, most rugged racers on the planet.”

For Stacy, it was his fifth SCORE Milestone Award as he has earned the in 2009, 2011, 2013-2 and 2014.

For veteran Dan Chamlee, Carpenteria, Calif. it was his fourth SCORE Milestone Award (Class 7-Ford Ranger—2009, 2011, 2013, 2014) and the second for Justin Matney, Bristol, Tenn. (Class 1, Geiser-Chevy), Christian Celaya, Paradise Valley, Ariz. (Class 1/2-1600, Currie-VW), Jesus Velez, Mexicali, Mexico (Class 1/2-1600, Curry-VW), Marc Burnett, Lakeside, Calif.(Class 19, Can-Am Maverick) and Matt Parks, Newport Beach, Calif. (Class 19, Polaris XP1000).

The remainder of this year’s honorees will be receiving SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards for the first time.

RPM Racing of Bristol, Tenn. saw two of its drivers win SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards this season. Matney won the unlimited Class 1 and Stacy was a very close second in SCORE Trophy Truck. In all, RPM Racing won three SCORE season class point titles in 2014.

Continuing the launch of a new era in SCORE desert racing under the direction of CEO/President Roger Norman, who purchased SCORE in December of 2012, the 2014 season included the three SCORE Baja races—the 28th Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250, the 46th Tecate SCORE Baja 500 and the 47th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. The two U.S. races were the second annual SCORE Imperial Valley 250 and the 19th annual Rigid Industries Desert Challenge.

For more information, visit

2014 SCORE Milestone Awards
(12 Pro car, truck and UTV racers who completed all 2,315.8 required mile
in the five-race 2014 SCORE World Desert Championship)

SCORE Trophy Truck
Steven Eugenio, Carlsbad, Calif.
Clyde Stacy, Bristol, Va.

Class 1
Justin Matney, Bristol, Tenn.

Class 1/2-1600
Kevin Smith, La Verne, Calif.
Christian Celaya, Paradise Valley, Ariz.
Jesus Velez, Mexicali, Mexico

Class 7
Dan Chamlee, Carpenteria, Calif.

Class 10
Cody Reid, Apple Valley, Calif.

Trophy Truck Spec
Taylor Mills, Corpus Christi, Texas

Class 19
Marc Burnett, Lakeside, Calif.
Matt Parks, Newport Beach, Calif.
Cory Sappington, Peoria, Ariz.

TAGS:  , ,

Leave a reply