Irvine, Calif. (August 4, 2014)
– Following one of the most beautiful weeks at Hurricane Mills in recent years, Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green riders accomplished 13 National Championships at this year’s 33rd Annual Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn’s. Leading the charge was Team Green’s young talent as Jett Reynolds, Stilez Robertson, and Garrett Marchbanks all took home two titles each, while Sean Cantrell, Austin Forkner joined them in sweeping the mini classes. In the Vet classes John Grewe took home two championships along with Earl May and Chad Murphy, and in 250 C, Draken Jaynes came out with the championship. Team Green won a total of 32 motos in 17 classes.

Reynolds ran the No. 1 on his KX™65 in the 65 (7-9) Limited class as defending champion but almost lost his championship hopes after the first moto. After a few crashes, Jett finished the moto in ninth place and was devastated. He returned to win the next two motos and due to the inconsistency of the other riders, he secured his second-consecutive championship in the class. Jett also competed in the 65 (7-11) class, which is open to all age groups. Even though he is one of the youngest in the class, Jett was able to dominate once again, taking his second championship of the week with a 2-1-1 moto score.

In control of the 85cc classes was Robertson on his KX™85. Robertson set the tone for the week by winning his first moto in the 85 (9-11) Limited and grabbing second in 85 (9-11) class. Sitting in the driver’s seat for the championships he played it smart and took second if needed but finished strong by winning the final motos in both classes to secure two championships.

Marchbanks has been the rider to beat all season and he proved this once again at the Ranch. Winning five of his six motos, the Utah native was untouchable on his KX85 in Mini Sr. 1 (12-13) and Mini Sr. 2 (12-14). His consistency and dominance did not go unrecognized as he was also awarded the Youth Rider Award of the week.

The Super Mini classes turned out to be the most exciting motos to watch all week long. Setting the tone was Cantrell in the first moto of Super Mini 1 (12-15) after he bested a six-rider battle for the lead to take the lead and the win on the final lap. Cantrell then used consistency to take the championship with a 1-3-2 moto score on his KX™100.

In Super Mini 2 (13-16) it was all Forkner. The Missouri rider dominated all three motos to win his first championship in two years. Forkner will make the jump to the KX™250F and look to continue his success in the B class.

Coming out guns blazing was Mitchell Harrison in 250 B and Schoolboy 2 (13-16). Harrison ripped a hole shot and cruised to two first moto wins, promoting fear amongst the rest of the field. Unfortunately in the second Schoolboy 2 moto, Harrison caught his foot in the deep ruts and injured his knee. He pushed through the pain and tried his best but could not replicate his first moto performance and finished fourth in 250 B.

In the A classes the nations top amateurs looked to finish their years at the Ranch on the podium. Chris Alldredge finished with a second place in 450 A and finished third place in 250 A, while Nick Gaines came on strong in the third motos to finish on the podium.

After his rookie season in Arenacross as part of Team Babbitt’s Monster Energy Amsoil Kawasaki, Colt Nichols returned to Loretta Lynn’s to try and add an Open Pro Sport title to his resume. Nichols showed the speed to win, but ended up second best. He, along with Alldredge and Gaines will transition to their professional careers.

Team Green’s success carried through to the Vet classes with Grewe standing above the rest. Grewe put his KX™450F on the podium in all of his motos to win the Senior (40+) and Senior (45+) championships as well as being awarded the Vet/Senior Rider Award. May ran the gold plates on his Kawasaki for the first time in the Masters (50+) class and rode smart to finish 1-1-2 to add another championship to his mantle. In addition, Murphy and Jaynes fought hard to win the Vet B/C (30+) and 250 C classes respectively, after overcoming their rivals in the final motos.

Team Green could almost always be found at the front of the field any time you watched a moto last week. Kawasaki grabbed 29 holeshots with every bike in the KX lineup leading the way multiple times.

With Loretta’s in the books, two Team Green riders have the honor to head straight to Belgium to represent Team USA at the World Junior Motocross Championships. Reynolds on his KX65 and Marchbanks on his KX85 will carry the red, white, and blue flag and showcase Kawasaki’s dominance against the world’s top junior riders.

Jett Reynolds – 65 (7-9) Limited
Jett Reynolds – 65 (7-11)
Stilez Robertson – 85 (9-11) Limited
Stilez Robertson – 85 (9-11)
Garrett Marchbanks – Mini Sr. 1 (12-13)
Garrett Marchbanks – Mini Sr. 2 (12-14)
Sean Cantrell – Super Mini 1 (12-15)
Austin Forkner – Super Mini 2 (13-16)
John Grewe – Senior (45+)
John Grewe – Senior (40+)
Earl May – Masters (50+)
Chad Murphy – Vet B/C (30+)
Draken Jaynes –250 C

Second Overall
Colt Nichols – Open Pro Sport
Austin Forkner – Super Mini 1 (12-15)
Sean Cantrell – Super Mini 2 (13-16)
Marissa Markelon – Women (14+)
Reid Edwards – Vet B/C (30+)
Chris Alldredge – 450 A

Third Overall
Chris Alldredge – 250 A
Rookie White – Schoolboy 2 (13-16)
Brandy Richards – Women (14+)
Chase Bell – 250 B Limited
Matt Preslar – Vet B/C (30+)
Gracie Van Horn – Girls (12-16)


Leave a reply