Ensenada, Mexico
– BFGoodrich Tires claimed its 30th overall Tecate SCORE Baja 500 title behind a strong run by BFGoodrich Performance Team member Bryce Menzies who grabbed his third overall win at this race in the past four years. The win marks the 79th overall win on the Baja peninsula for BFGoodrich Tires.

BFGoodrich Tires not only took the overall win, but its race tires ran on nine of the top 10 overall finishers and 17 of the top 20 and added seven class wins. In Class 1, four of the top five class finishers, including class 1 winner Cody Parkhouse, who finished 10th overall, ran on BFGoodrich Tires.

After narrowly missing his chance for a third consecutive Baja 500 victory last year, Menzies was determined to make this his day. He started his No. 70 Red Bull Trophy Truck second on the day and allowed the pace to be set in front of him until leader Robby Gordon found some trouble at race mile 262. Menzies took the lead on the road and never looked back in conquering the 446-mile course.

BFGoodrich driver Jason Voss, who had already won twice this year, stayed hot on Menzies’ heels for a second place finish while Jesse Jones ran his No. 76 Fox Shocks/BFGoodrich Tires Trophy Truck from a midpack qualifying spot to run with the top five within the first 200 miles of the race.

Menzies crossed the line first but the drama continued at the finish line to determine the overall winner which is based on overall elapsed time. Jones, who started 16th and 14 minutes behind Menzies, was still out and closing fast with a chance to cross the line within that timeframe and snatch the win. Ultimately Jones crossed beyond that limit, sealing the win for Menzies and triggering a celebration at the finish line. Jones’ effort nearly caught Menzies on overall elapsed time but he settled for a strong third place for a BFGoodrich podium sweep.

“Congratulations to Bryce Menzies, Pete Mortensen, and the entire Menzies Motorsports team on their third Baja 500 win in the past four years.” said Peter Calhoun, BFGoodrich Tires motorsports manager.  “To achieve BFGoodrich’s 30th Baja 500 win against such stiff competition on a grueling course is a testament to Menzies preparation and the toughness of BFGoodrich tires.”

Taking into account the last two years of races in Baja, BFGoodrich Tires has claimed 42 of the overall top 50 finishers and an astounding 43 class wins.

BFGoodrich Tires, the official tire of SCORE International, has also claimed all three SCORE desert races in 2014. Additionally the tire manufacturer has won six overall desert races in 2014 and 14 in the last two years including SCORE and the Best In The Desert series.

KR2 Continues to Make Gains
The “new” race tire that BFGoodrich Tires introduced at last year’s SCORE Baja 500 continues to gain momentum at lightning speed. After being run as a development tire with All German Motorsports last year, the
BFGoodrich Baja T/AKR2 took the overall win on Menzies truck and the class 1 win with Cody Parkhouse. In all, nine finishers in the top 20 overall were running Baja T/A KR2 tires, with the others running the original Baja T/A KR race tire for a dominating effort for the tire manufacturer.

For this year’s SCORE Baja 500, 21 race trucks hitched Baja T/A KR2 tires to their trucks including 16 in the premier Trophy Trucks class.

MacCachren Holds Onto SCORE World Desert Championship Lead

With this fifth place finish, BFGoodrich Performance Team member Rob MacCachren retained his SCORE Overall and SCORE Trophy Truck point lead after three rounds of the five-race 2014 SCORE World Desert Championship.

MacCachren, a two-time SCORE Trophy Truck season point champion, drives the No. 11 Rockstar Energy MacCachren Motorsports Ford F-150 and finished fourth in the season-opening Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 and with San Diego’s Andy McMillin pinch-hitting for him, he won the SCORE Imperial Valley 250 in late April.

2014 Becoming The Year of BFG
As the desert racing season enters its midway point, BFGoodrich Tires has seen considerable success. With overall victories in races supported by both major desert racing bodies – SCORE International and Best In the Desert, BFGoodrich Tires is leading the way for success in the desert, with BFGoodrich equipped drivers claiming all six races on its tires.

BITD Parker 425 – Jason Voss
SCORE San Felipe 250 – Gus Vildosola Jr
BITD Mint 400 – Andy McMillin
SCORE Imperial Valley 250 – Andy McMillin
BITD Silver State 300 – Jason Voss
SCORE Baja 500 – Bryce Menzies

TAGS:  , ,

Leave a reply