Las Vegas, NV
– Red Bull KTM Factory riders Ryan Dungey and Ken Roczen finished 2nd and 3rd respectively at the final round of the 2014 Monster Energy Supercross Series held at Sam Boyd Stadium.

The track was rutted and dusty and the riders were faced with the hottest temperatures of the series. “Today was good preparation for outdoors because it was very warm and challenging,” stated Roczen.

Dungey was placed in the first 450 SX heat where he launched off the line to a 4th place start. He was able to move up one position during the heat to secure 3rd place in the race for a transfer spot to the main event.

Roczen was in the second 450 SX heat. Roczen started the race in 8th position. He was able to pass two riders but his 6th place finish was not strong enough to transfer to the main and he was sent to the semi race.

Roczen got a great start in his semi race and took the lead. He went on to win the race for a spot on the main event gate.

Both Red Bull KTM riders lined up for the main event where they launched their 450 SX-F Factory Edition motorcycles to a top five start. Dungey was sitting in 3rd place while Roczen was one spot back in 4th. On the second lap, both riders were able to pass Jake Weimer to move up one position. Dungey made his pass after tripling past Weimer in a rhythm section while Roczen passed him through the whoops. Once in podium position, both riders held their position and finished the race in those same spots.

The 2nd and 3rd place results were also where both riders finished in the championship point standings. “I was hoping for a win in Vegas,” remarked Dungey. “I am happy to be on the podium but was really hoping to be closer to a win tonight. Now we will go back to California to test for two weeks before outdoors start. I am pumped to finish 2nd overall in the series points and hope to make it one spot better next season.”

Overall Results
1.    Ryan Villopoto
2.    Ryan Dungey
3.    Ken Roczen
4.    Justin Barcia
5.    Trey Canard
6.    Jake Weimer
7.    Josh Hill
8.    Josh Grant
9.    Chris Blose
10.    Andrew Short
11.    Kyle Chisholm
12.    Ben Lamay
13.    Jimmy Albertson
14.    Nick Schmidt
15.    Cody Gilmore
16.    Kyle Regal
17.    Mike Alessi
18.    Ronnie Stewart
19.    Bracken Hall
20.    Weston Peick
21.    Tyler Bowers
22.    James Stewart

Overall Point Standings
1.    Ryan Villopoto – 368
2.    Ryan Dungey – 304
3.    Ken Roczen – 285

TAGS:  , , ,

Leave a reply