– Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s James Stewart celebrated his first podium finish of the 2014 AMA/FIM Supercross season on Saturday night at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, CA. Although Stewart still struggled with lingering illness, the Yoshimura Suzuki rider pushed through it and raced his Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 to a well-earned second place at the second of three Anaheim rounds.

Although Yoshimura Suzuki’s Stewart wasn’t 100 percent all day, he still qualified third fastest in the premier 450 class. He went on to get a good start in his six-lap heat race and pulled into the lead right off the bat. Taking advantage of a clear track, Stewart pulled a gap and rode six perfect laps on his Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 to claim his first heat race win of the season. In the 20-lap main event, Stewart again got a good start on his Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 and slotted quickly into second place. He went on to lead the race and fend off aggressive attacks from the competition before eventually finishing second.

“In all honesty, I was just a tick off all day,” said Stewart. “I was happy to win my heat race and I rode pretty good in the main event. I led for a little while and the Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 was running great. But then a guy got by me with about three or four laps left. It’s frustrating to lose like that but I’m happy to be on the podium for the first time this year. I’m still fighting this cold but I’m getting stronger. So right now, it’s about limiting my mistakes, not throwing it away and getting what I can get. I’m just looking forward to going to Oakland and making things happen.”

Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s next event is the fourth round of the 2014 AMA/FIM Supercross Championship on Saturday, January 25th, at O.Co Coliseum in Oakland, CA.

Anaheim 2 450 Supercross Results:
1.  Chad Reed
2.  James Stewart
3.  Ken Roczen
4.  Justin Brayton
5.  Ryan Villopoto
6.  Ryan Dungey
7.  Weston Peick
8.  Josh Hill
9.  Andrew Short
10. Jake Weimer

2014 450 Supercross Standings:
1.  Ken Roczen
2.  Ryan Villopoto
3.  Chad Reed
4.  Ryan Dungey
5.  Justin Brayton
6.  James Stewart
7.  Justin Barcia
8.  Andrew Short
9.  William Hahn
10. Broc Tickle

TAGS:  ,

Leave a reply