Geico-Endurocross-New-4-10-13Boise, Idaho – KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak took his second win of the year at the Boise, Idaho GEICO AMA EnduroCross, fueled by Monster Energy. And more important to Blazusiak, Mike Brown finished fourth and the two riders are now tied on points going into the Las Vegas finals on November 23rd.

The main event was another spectacular battle for the win. Beta’s Cody Webb made an aggressive pass on Blazusiak and appeared to be headed to his third win in a row but Blazusiak clawed his way back and re-paid Webb with an aggressive block pass of his own at the halfway point. The two stayed close for several laps but then Blazusiak started to edge away and took a comfortable win. “Trying to get that start is key but I made a mistake and let Cody pass me, which was a good one” Blazusiak said with a chuckle. “Vegas is going to be crazy and a battle to the checkered flag for the championship” he continued.

Webb was a little disappointed with his second place finish after taking the win at the previous two events. “I had a huge lead and then I pumped up so bad that I couldn’t even take my own helmet off after the race” Webb said. But he now moved into third in the points despite missing a race due to a broken foot.

Lucas/Rockstar JCR Honda backed Colton Haaker rode a strong race to finish third. He had set the fastest time during the evening Hot Laps to get the first gate pick for the main event but was unable to convert that into a good start. He was shuffled back to tenth after getting stuck in the wood pile on the second lap so third was a great result.

KTM’s Mike Brown had entered the event with a seven point lead in the championship and started the day strong by setting the fastest time during the afternoon Hot Laps. But then Brown had a tough heat race, getting stuck in the wood pile several times to finish fifth, which meant he had to go to the LCQ. The LCQ was nearly a disaster for him but he ultimately took the win to get into the main. He then rode a strong race to hold third but lost touch with Blazusiak and Webb and then got passed by the charging Haaker late in the race.

Fifth place went to Justin Soule on the Monster Kawasaki. Like Haaker, Soule also moved through the field and was right on Brown’s rear wheel for the last lap but could not find a way to pass him.

Taylor Robert had a tough main event and finished sixth and fell from third to fifth in the points. Kyle Redmond, Geoff Aaron, Kevin Rookstool and Gary Sutherlin finished seventh through tenth.

Brown and Blazusiak will head to Las Vegas tied with 130 points each. Webb is third with 110, Haaker fourth with 108 and Robert is fifth with 105. The top five are mathematically still alive in the chase. The 2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship will be decided in Las Vegas on Saturday, November 23rd.

Boise, Idaho GEICO AMA EnduroCross, Fueled by Monster Energy Expert Main Event results:
Taddy Blazusiak            KTM
Cody Webb                  Beta
Colton Haaker               Honda
Mike Brown                   KTM
Justin Soule                  Kawasaki
Taylor Robert                Kawasaki
Kyle Redmond              KTM
Geoff Aaron                  KTM
Kevin Rookstool           KTM
Gary Sutherlin               KTM
Max Gerston                 Beta
Keith Sweeten               KTM
Ricky Dietrich                KTM

RPM KTM’s Chantelle Bykerk came into Idaho just needing finish ahead of Rachel Gutish to clinch the 2013 Women’s GEICO AMA EnduroCross title and she left no doubt by taking her fourth win in a row. Bykerk battled with Shelby Turner and made a last lap pass to take the lead and win. She now has an insurmountable lead heading to the Las Vegas finals. Sarah Whitmore, the long standing Women’s pro motocross racer earned her first ever EnduroCross podium.

In the Open Amateur main event, Harrison Oswald took the win over Wyatt Hart and Tucker Larrieu. The Vet Class was a crazy battle with multiple lead changes on the last lap. Colby Begin took the hard fought win over Stephen Foord and David Stirm. And the TrialsCross class win went to fourteen-year-old Ty Cullins over Shad Petersen and Kyle Larsen.

For more information, please visit

TAGS:  , ,

Leave a reply