Geico-Endurocross-New-4-10-13Denver, CO – Beta’s Cody Webb earned his first ever GEICO AMA EnduroCross main event win in Denver, Colorado. He battled with Colton Haaker for several laps and then capitalized on a mistake by the JCR Honda rider to take the lead and then steadily pull away from a multi rider battle for second. Taddy Blazusiak and Taylor Robert moved through the field to earn second and third.

Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder, Robert and Webb were the three heat race winners but the new night time hot lap format decides the main event gate picks. Haaker set the fastest time over Webb and Robert. Brown crashed during the hot lap and had the slowest time of the thirteen riders, which meant he had to start on the second row.

Haaker rocketed to the front on the start and was followed by Webb, Blazusiak and Brown, who got an amazing start despite the second row gate pick. Brown then passed Blazusiak on the first lap to take over third and the two riders battled over the position for several laps. Meanwhile, Haaker and Webb were having their own battle for the lead until Haaker went down in a rock turn on lap seven of ten. Haaker held up Webb as Brown and Blazusiak flew into the rock pile at the same time Webb squeezed his way out and into the lead. Brown came out in second but Blazusiak made a pass on lap eight and started to try to close the gap on a disappearing Webb but ultimately came up four seconds short. Webb cruised the last lap to take his first ever GEICO AMA EnduroCross win. “I knew I had a safe lead on that last lap and just needed to get through the matrix to get the win and it felt so great to do a fist pump over the finish line” Webb said.

Blazusiak took second and then Robert made a last lap pass on Brown to take third. Brown held on for fourth and Haaker recovered for fifth. Kyle Redmond, Justin Soule, Graffunder, Destry Abbott and Geoff Aaron finished sixth through tenth.

Denver, Colorado GEICO AMA EnduroCross, Fueled by Monster Energy Expert Main Event results:
Cody Webb             Beta
Taddy Blazusiak    KTM
Taylor Robert        Kawasaki
Mike Brown           KTM
Colton Haaker       Honda
Kyle Redmond       KTM
Justin Soule           Kawasaki
Cory Graffunder    Husqvarna
Destry Abbott        Kawasaki
Geoff Aaron           KTM
Bryan Roper          KTM
Kevin Rookstool   KTM
Nick Thompson    KTM

Brown narrowly held onto the series points lead over Blazusiak with 90 and 87 respectively. Robert is third with 75 points and Haaker and Webb round out the top five with 68 and 63.

The next round of the series will be held in Everett, Washington on October 26th.

Each EnduroCross event also includes several amateur classes and Canada’s Stephen Foord took the win over Derek Raycraft and Matthew Wisniewski. David Broderick made the drive from Arizona pay off with a win in the Amateur class over Nick Thompson and Wyatt Hart. Colorado local Keifer Jacobson won the TrialsCross class over Loren Christensen and Michael Salsman.

The women’s main event came down to the last turn where RPM KTM’s Chantelle Bykerk passed fellow Canadian Shelby Turner to take the win. The two riders exchanged the lead multiple times on the last lap. Louise Forsley finished third. Bykerk is also leading the women’s class points with 94 versus 77 for Rachel Gutish, who finished sixth in Denver. Morgan Tanke and Sarah Whitmore are tied for third with 61 each.

For more information, please visit

TAGS:  , , ,

Leave a reply