Borich-GNCC-ATV-Preview-10-10-13MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – The 2013 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series heads to St. Clairsville, Ohio this Saturday, October 12, for the 12th running of the ITP Powerline Park GNCC. After wrapping up the XC1 Pro ATV title with two rounds to go, Chris Borich will attempt to tie the all-time record for ATV overall wins at this weekend’s penultimate round, furthering his chances of breaking the record-held by 9-Time ATV GNCC Champion Bill Ballance-this season.

Borich heads into this weekend’s Powerline Park GNCC with 66 career wins behind him, seven of which he has earned this season. The Pennsylvania native kicked off 2013 with five consecutive wins and since then, he has only captured two overalls in the last six rounds. However, a consecutive string of second place finishes was good enough to earn Borich a fifth consecutive XC1 Pro Class title at Round 11.

It was Reliable Tool Supply/Maxxis’ Chris Bithell who claimed the overall win at the inaugural Gusher GNCC, earning his first victory of the season in his home state of Pennsylvania. Currently sitting fourth overall in the championship standings, Bithell has been a strong contender all year with seven podium-finishes through the first eleven rounds.

While Lonestar Racing/Precision/ITP’s Adam McGill hasn’t been as consistent atop the podium, the West Virginia native has managed to score championship points in all eleven rounds thus far. This consistency, as well as an overall win at Round 8, has earned McGill the third place position in the overall standings, where he sits just two points ahead of Bithell.

With two overall victories this season-the second most of the class-AmPro Yamaha’s Walker Fowler currently holds second overall in the championship standings. With the exception of the mud race at Round 5, Fowler has shown much consistency by finishing inside the top five at every other round. The Ohio native has earned his place as a top contender amongst the many veterans in the XC1 Pro Class.

BNR’s Kevin Yoho heads into Round 12 with the fifth place position in the overall standings, while Team Woodhead/DeRisi Racing’s Braden Henthorn holds the sixth place spot. HMF/GBC/Yamaha’s Johnny Gallagher sits two points behind Henthorn in seventh, with Waynesburg Yamaha’s Jeff Pickens and JB Racing/Cheerwine/Can-Am rider Jarrod McClure holding eighth and ninth place respectively.

Ohio’s Brycen Neal wrapped up the XC2 Pro Am Championship last round after capturing his eighth class win of the season. Neal, an XC2 rookie, has plans to make the jump into XC1 for the remaining two rounds, where he will compete full time in 2014. Indiana’s Fred Marley now sits only one point ahead of reigning XC2 Pro Am Champion Patrick McGuire with two rounds remaining. The duo has been battling back and forth all season long and it will likely come down to the season finale to determine the second place finisher.

Four-wheeled ATVs will compete throughout the day on Saturday, October 12 and motorcycles will race on Sunday, October 13. Local riders are invited to race the event as well, the entry fee is $40 and riders can sign up at the track.

Spectator passes run $15 for the full weekend, with pro pit access and pro autographs at no additional charge. On both Saturday and Sunday, youth riders race at 8 a.m., amateurs and Women race at 10 a.m., and the top amateurs and the pros race at 1 p.m. For more information and directions to the event, please visit

TAGS:  , ,

Leave a reply