hdra-logo-7-10-13RENO, Nev. — Tuesday night’s live drawing for starting positions at the Eldorado Hotel Casino in downtown Reno, Nev., has set the stage for Saturday’s 2nd annual Eldorado HDRA Reno 500, Round 3 of the four-race 2013 HDRA Desert Series. After a week of practice on the course and the festivities on Virginia Street, 0n Saturday it’s down to serious business as a twinbill is slated for the Tahoe Reno Motorplex, located 20 minutes east of downtown Reno at exit 32 (USA Parkway exit) on Interstate-80 as Round 3 of the 2013 HDRA Desert Series and Round eight of the AMA National Hare and Hound motorcycle series will run simultaneously.

Over 60 entries from a dozen U.S. States as well as Columbia, Mexico and New Zealand entered in 15 classes for race cars and race trucks will be competing in the 2nd Annual Eldorado HDRA Reno 500 which will start at 9:00 a.m. on Saturday. The course will be open for 18 hours in the elapsed-time race, but the fastest vehicles are expected to finish in about seven hours.  Also at the Tahoe Reno Motorplex Saturday, starting at Noon will be motorcycles battling in the Reno Extreme, a six-hour endurance race.

While the race courses will be different, the spectator area on a elevated plateau overlooking start/finish with sight lines of more than 12 miles of the race course will make viewing safe and among the best in all of desert racing. The area will also have food and beverage vendors, a beer garden with Monster Energy drink specials, Monster Energy Girls and three performances by the Monster Energy LivFast Freestyle motorcycle stunt team. One-price admission to enjoy both races is $10 per person.

RV and camping facilities are also available at the Tahoe Reno Motorplex. Fee is $20 per night, per camp site with designated viewing areas.

The featured Trophy Truck racing division for high-tech, 850 horsepower unlimited production trucks along with the unlimited Class 1 for open-wheel desert race cars and Class 10 for limited-engine open-wheelers will hold a special qualifying session over a short-section of the course at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday to determine their respective starting positions, by class. The starting grid for the other classes was determined by Tuesday night’s live drawing at the Eldorado Hotel and Casino.  For the three classes that will qualify on Thursday, Tuesday’s drawing determined their order of qualifying within their respective classes.

With entries accepted until race morning, the late entries will receive the next starting position within their respective classes. Here is the official starting order within each class after Tuesday’s drawing:

2nd Annual Eldorado HDRA Reno 500
Round 3 of the four-race 2013 HDRA Series
July 13, 2013—Tahoe Reno Motorplex–Reno, Nevada
Total Entries: 60 (as of 7/09/13)
(U.S. States–Arizona, California, Colorado, Minnesota, Montana,
Nevada, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
& additional countries–Columbia, Mexico, New Zealand)
(By Official Class Starting Order)

Pro Cars & Trucks
85 Justin Davis
44 Todd Jergensen
88 Sergio Salgado
19 Tim Herbst
32 Shawn Croll
50 Zak Langley
26 Jay Reichert
97 B.J. Baldwin
18 Juan C. Lopez
91 Troy Herbst
16 Cameron Steele

CLASS 1 (6)
151 Dustin Miller
199 Clayton Scudder
156 Richard Boyle
127 Cody Parkhouse
149 Sam Berri
105 Chad Dohrman

CLASS 1/2-1600 (3)
1666 Lucas Knecht
1610 Kevin Price
1683 Chris Jones

CLASS 3000 (4)
3003 Reid Rutherford
3030 Mike Frisby
3053 Ryan Frisby
3017 Allan Lee

CLASS 5-1600 (3)
595 Stu Hersey
569 Donald Harper
555 Clyde Stacy-1st RS

CLASS 7 (5)
7298 Jonathan Brenthal
7207 Steve Kovach
7248 Josh Quintero
7228 Jon Lee-1st RS
7226 Al Hogan-2nd RS

741 James Burman

CLASS 8 (1)
802 Derek Fletcher-1st RS

CLASS 10 (10)
1080 Peter Hajas
1039 Matt Cullen
1008 Mark Lawrence
1001 Andrew Myers
1011 John Langley
1066 Mike Shaffer
1006 Mike Lawrence
1057 Christian Hall
1048 John Hsu
1099 Norris Brown

860 Chad Hall
844 Clyde Stacy-1st RS

8002 Bill Belansky

CLASS 19 (5)
1907 Paul Broughton
1930 Sean Cook
1913 Bill Hermant
1939 Robert Dalton
1901 Doug McCrady

1440 Cronus Dillard

2023 Andrew McCarthy

SPT Baja Challenge (6)
BC 2 Burl Brim Jr
BC 1 Jon Largent
BC 5 Johnny Buss
BC 3 Alan Butler
BC 6 Dan Elkins
BC 4 Antonio Marmolejo

TAGS:  , , , , , , , ,

Leave a reply