BFGoodrich-Logo-2-19-13Ensenada, Mexico – BFGoodrich Tires and its arsenal of top off-road drivers will put its desert-conquering tires to the test at this year’s 45th Tecate SCORE Baja 500 in Ensenada, Mexico, starting Saturday, June 1. This 45th running of the Tecate SCORE Baja 500 will not only be historic for the sport of desert racing, but could also mean an unprecedented 30th Tecate SCORE Baja 500 victory for BFGoodrich Tires in the past 34 years of racing.

A Rugged Course Celebrating Baja’s Heritage
This year’s course stretches just over 501 miles and will challenge drivers with every piece of difficult terrain Baja has to offer including some new and seldom-used areas along the loop from the start/finish line in Ensenada, Mexico.  This year’s course will test the mettle of drivers and their equipment with everything from high-speed dirt trails, sandy, rocky and silty natural terrains to scenic Baja washes.  The course stretches along the seashore with elevations from sea level to over 4,100 feet.

“Our experts have been working closely with SCORE to map out the course this year so we know it is going to be a true challenge for not only the drivers, but our tires as well.  We are looking forward to pushing the limits across the demanding Baja terrain at this historic running of the Tecate SCORE Baja 500,” said Peter Calhoun, BFGoodrich Tires motorsports manager. “We have had an impressive desert racing year so far in 2013 and a victory here would definitely be a testament to the skill of our drivers and toughness of our tires.”

Menzies Goes for a Three-Peat
BFGoodrich driver Bryce Menzies has been the man to beat at Baja recently.  A win this year will be his third consecutive in the Tecate SCORE Baja 500.  If he takes the checkered flag in 2013, he will be the first driver to win three consecutive titles since Ivan Stewart from 1997-1999.

Last year, Menzies edged out BJ Baldwin in the second-closest Tecate SCORE Baja 500 finish in history with a time of 9 hours, 13 minutes, 39 seconds and an average speed of 48.77 miles per hour.  This year, he hopes his BFGoodrich® Baja T/A® KR tires get him across the finish line with a little more time to spare.

“We had a close finish last year and if it wasn’t for the incredible performance of my equipment, I’m not sure if I could have edged out BJ. Anything can go wrong in the desert but my BFGoodrich Baja T/A™ KR tires stood up to the rigors of the desert and helped us bring home a win,” said Menzies.  “This year if we can get that same stellar performance from my tires and other equipment, I think we can have another great finish.”

BFGoodrich’s Desert Dominance
BFGoodrich drivers will make up a field of racers from 35 states and 15 countries in 40 Pro and seven Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, motorcycles and ATVs at this year’s race. Currently 10 of the top 15 drivers in the HDRA/SCORE standings in 2013 run on BFGoodrich® Tires.

BFGoodrich has had a firm grasp on the desert racing podium with drivers taking first overall at the King of Hammers (Randy Slawson), Parker 425 (Troy Vest), Mint 400 (Bryce Menzies), King Shocks 250 (Justin Davis) and San Felipe 250 (Gustavo and Tavo Vildosola).  In fact, BFGoodrich® Tires has swept the podium this year in the SCORE Series with the Vildosolas, Bryce Menzies and Rob MacCachren sweeping the podium in San Felipe.

Each year, BFGoodrich teams compete on a variety of tires, including the BFGoodrich® All-Terrain T/A®KO tire, BFGoodrich® Baja T/A® tire and BFGoodrich® Baja T/A®KR tire. BFGoodrich Tires also supports the entire Baja Challenge (BC) Class at the Tecate SCORE Baja 500 with
BFGoodrich® Mud-Terrain T/A®KM2 tires.

In addition to supplying tires to a number of Tecate SCORE Baja 500 competitors, BFGoodrich Tires will continue to lend unparalleled pit and communications support to teams through its fleet of off-road motorsports vehicles as well as provide accommodations and supplies at the media center. This immense undertaking involves more than 100 off-road enthusiasts and volunteers who donate their time in order to help make the race an overwhelming success.

BFGoodrich Tires Overall SCORE Baja 500 Winners List
SCORE Baja 500 overall winners from the past 33 years who competed on BFGoodrich tires:
1980    Bob Gordon                    Chenowth Chevy
1981    Malcolm Smith/Bill Newbury    Chenowth Chevy
1982    Larry Ragland                    Funco VW
1983    Corky McMillin/Scott McMillin    Chenowth Chevy
1984    Larry Ragland                    Chaparral VW
1985    Ron Gardner/Bud Feldkamp    Funco VW
1986    Corky McMillin/Scott McMillin    Chenowth Porsche
1987    Bob Gordon/Tim Crabtree            Chenowth Porsche
1988    Mark McMillin                    Chenowth Porsche
1989    Robby Gordon                    Ford
1990    Robby Gordon                    Ford
1993    Ivan Stewart                    Toyota
1994    Ivan Stewart    Toyota
1996    Rob MacCachren    Ford
1997    Ivan Stewart    Toyota
1998    Ivan Stewart    Toyota
1999    Ivan Stewart    Toyota Tundra
2000    Larry Ragland    Chevy
2001    Mark McMillin    Jimco-Chevy
2002    Troy Herbst/Larry Roeseler    Smithbuilt Ford
2003    Troy Herbst/Larry Roeseler    Smithbuilt Ford
2004    Alan Pflueger    Chevy
2005    Robby Gordon    Chevy
2006    Brian Collins/Larry Ragland    Chevy
2007    Larry Ragland/Brian Collins    Chevy
2008    B.J. Baldwin    Chevy
2010    Andy McMillin/Scott McMillin    Ford Trophy Truck
2011    Bryce Menzies    Ford Trophy Truck
2012    Bryce Menzies    Ford Trophy Truck

TAGS:  , , , , , , ,

Leave a reply