KTM-Logo-2-14-12Bedford, IN – Factory FMF/KTM rider Kailub Russell took his first win of the OMA season at the third round of the series.

Russell did not have the jump off the start he anticipated and he was sitting in last position as the riders came around the first corner. A short ways into the first lap the riders approached a large technical hill climb.

“In one way, I guess I was lucky I was in last place as we got to the hillside because I could see where everyone had crashed,” remarked Russell. “I was then able to take a better line up the hill which allowed me to move up to second position by the top of the hill.”

Russell maintained second place for the next three laps while the course started to break in. “Once there were some good lines in the course it became easier to not make mistakes and those of us in the top three were able to pull away,” stated Russell.

Around the halfway point, Russell was able to move into first after Paul Whibley stopped for fuel. Once in the lead, Russell never looked back and went on to win the race by 40 seconds.

Next Event: Fort Smith, AK – May 26, 2013

Overall Results
1.    Kailub Russell
2.    Paul Whibley
3.    Russell Bobbitt
4.    Jordan Ashburn
5.    Nick Fahringer

TAGS:  , , , ,

Leave a reply