Geico-Endurocross-New-4-10-13Irvine, CA (April 22, 2013) – Taddy Blazusiak, the current GEICO AMA EnduroCross champion had to overcome a poor qualifying heat race and an extremely slippery track to win the first ever Global X Games Enduro X event, which was held in Foz Do Iquacu, Brazil. Cody Webb, runner up in the 2012 GEICO EnduroCross Championship showed that he is capable of challenging Blazusiak and leading when he washed out the front end to give up the lead. In fact, Webb and Blazusiak exchanged the lead several times in the first few laps. Webb recovered to finish second ahead of the UK’s David Knight, the multi time World Enduro and GNCC Champion, making it three nationalities on the podium.

“I don’t know how it looks on TV but I have never ridden something as hard as this track,” Blazusiak said after the finals. “It’s so slick … I’m super stoked on first place. I gave it all I had and I’m so pumped.”

Colton Haaker, another American and winner of the 2012 Las Vegas opening round finished in fourth position riding a new Rockstar Energy, Lucas Oil backed Honda. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert rounded out the top five.

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

2013 X Games Enduro X, Brazil, Men’s Final Results
1          Taddy Blazusiak
2          Cody Webb
3          David Knight
4          Colton Haaker
5          Taylor Robert
6          Mike Brown
7          Cory Graffunder
8          Kyle Redmond
9          Alfredo Gomez
10        Max Gerston
11        Geoff Aaron
12        Bobby Prochnau
13        Bryan Roper
14        Ricky Dietrich
15        Gary Sutherlin

In the Women’s completion, it was another podium with three Nationalities represented as Spain’s Laia Sainz topped American Maria Forsberg and Puerto Rico’s Tara Geiger. Sainz is a multi-time Women’s World Enduro champion and looked very comfortable in her first ever X Games Enduro X event. Sainz took the lead from Forsberg on the first lap and rode a clean race to take the gold medal. Forsberg had to battle back from a first lap delay to earn the silver medal while Geiger, the former Women’s X Games Women’s Moto X champion rode a consistent race for the bronze.

2013 X Games Enduro X, Brazil, Women’s Final Results
1          Laia Sanz
2          Tarah Gieger
3          Rachel Gutish
4          Kacy Martinez
5          Chantelle Bykerk
6          Jolene Van Vugt
7          Maria Forsberg
8          Marcella Gonclaves
9          Mariana Balbi
10        Stefany Serrao

TAGS:  , , , , , , ,

Leave a reply