LOS ANGELES—Following the first three of five races in the 2012 SCORE Desert Series, 30 of SCORE’s toughest drivers remain in the hunt to earn 2011 SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards.

Leading the way are six racers in the featured SCORE Trophy Truck division, three in Class 1 for unlimited open-wheelers and and five in Class 1/2-1600 for single or two-seat open wheelers powered by 1600cc VW engines.

The six SCORE Trophy Truck drivers who have completed every race mile so far this season are: Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas (No. 20 Ford F-150), Juan C. Lopez, Tecate, Mexico (No. 18 Chevy Silverado), Steven Strobel, Clarks, Neb. (No. 94 Ford F-150), Scott Whipple, Norco, Calif. (No. 95 Ford F-150), Tim Herbst, Las Vegas (No. 19 Ford F-150) and Ryan Arciero, Foothill Ranch, Calif. (No. 49 Ford F-150). Tim Herbst and Arciero, who races with Tim Herbst’s younger brother Troy, are part of the Las Vegas-based Terrible Herbst Motorsports team.

Nearly 280 entries are expected to compete in 36 Pro and 7 Sportsman classes for cars and trucks in the upcoming 44th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 500. Round four of the five-race 2012 SCORE Desert Series will be held June 1-3 in Ensenada, Mexico. With late entries accepted up until race morning, entries from 30 US States and 10 countries are expected to take the green flag in the popular early-summer race.

The drawing for starting positions will be held on Saturday at the SCORE headquarters in Los Angeles. In order to be included in the start draw, entries must be received by tomorrow (Wednesday).

Pre-race festivities will be held on the heart of Ensenada on Friday, June 1, and the elapsed-time race will start at 6 a.m. (PDT) on Saturday, June 2. The awards celebration will be held at 11 a.m. (PDT) on Sunday, June 3 poolside at the San Nicolas Resort.

Toyota is presenting these prestigious awards to the world’s toughest desert racers for the 27th consecutive year. The Toyota Milestone awards will go to those pro car and truck drivers who finish every required mile in the five-race 2012 SCORE Desert Series, the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Series.

“Toyota is proud to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers,” said Les Unger, national motorsports manager at Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A. “For over a quarter of a century, Toyota has had the privilege of presenting the SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards to the toughest racers on the planet.”

2012 SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards
(30 Racers have completed every required mile after three rounds in the five-race 2012 SCORE Desert Series)

SCORE Trophy Truck
Juan C. Lopez
Rob MacCachren
Steven Strobel
Scott Whipple
Tim Herbst
Ryan Arciero

Class 1
Cody Parkhouse
Damen Jefferies
Monica Greenhill

Class 1/2-1600
Robert Archibald
Cody Robinson
Brad Wilson
George Peters
Brian Wilson

Class 3
Donald Moss

Class 5
Kevin Carr
Class 5-1600
Clyde Stacy

Class 6
Eduardo Laguna

Class 7SX
Elias Hanna

Class 8
Rodolfo Iribe

Class 10
Peter Hajas
Matt Cullen
Perry McNeil
Mike Lawrence
Mark Lawrence

Otoneil Huerta
Stock Full
West Bevly III

Class 7-2
Billy Wilson
Reid Rutherford

Class 4
Derek Fletcher

TAGS:  , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a reply