Twenty of the 33 Trick Trucks entered in the 2012 Blue Water Resort & Casino Parker “425”, February 3rd thru 5th, have signed up to take part in this year’s Trick Truck Challenge. This will be the second year for the Trick Truck Challenge that saw over $134,000 in bonus money paid out in 2011. To be eligible for the year-long Challenge, Trick Truck teams must be signed up by the Parker “425” race.

Casey Folks, Director of Best In The Desert, announced, “As of January 25th, 20 of the top Trick Truck teams in the world have signed up for the second year of the exciting Best in the Desert $120,000 Trick Truck Challenge. That’s right – one hundred and twenty thousand dollars paid back 100% to the racers. A special bonus purse will be paid out to the top three participating Trick Truck finishers at each of the six Best In The Desert races as well as the year-end bonus. The special Trick Truck Challenge Cup Trophy will also be awarded at the end of the year to the overall winning team.” Folks continued, “No other off-road racing organization has a program like the Best in the Desert Trick Truck Challenge. I’ve always said, either lead, follow or get out of our way and Best in the Desert is in the lead!”

$10,000 will be paid to 1st, $6,000 to 2nd and $3,000 to 3rd for each of six races for a total of $19,000 per race. An additional $10,000 will go to 1st place, $4,000 for 2nd and $2,000 for 3rd in the final year-end standings. Plus another $44,000 in year-end bonus has been posted from sponsors TSCO, Camburg Engineering, Jimco Racing, Geiser Bros., MasterCraft and Racer Engineering.
The 20 trucks entered to date in the 2012 Best In The Desert Trick Truck Challenge are:
Adam Ashcraft, # 78
Adam Householder, # 4
BJ Baldwin, # 1
Cameron Steele, # 16
Clyde Stacy, # 58
Greg Nunley, # 10
Jason Voss, # 35
Jerry Zaiden, # 75
Jesse Jones, # 76
Jimmy Nuckles, # 48
Kevin McGillivray, # 56
Gary Weyhrich, # 98
Mark Weyhrich, # 9
Rich Voss, # 36
Rick D. Johnson, # 71
Ron Whitton, # 39
Scott Whipple, # 95
Steve Olliges / John Swift, # 28
Steve Sourapas, # 6
Will Staats, # 42

2011 was the first year for the Trick Truck Challenge that saw many different winners throughout the course of the season. The enthusiasm over the success of last year’s Challenge by the Trick Truck teams was the driving force behind bringing it back for 2012.

2011 Trick Truck Challenge results:

Blue Water Resort & Casino Parker “425”
1st Place             Jesse Jones
2nd Place            Tim Herbst
3rd Place             Steve Sourapas

Bilek Racing Silver State “300”
1st Place             Adam Householder
2nd Place             BJ Baldwin
3rd Place             Rick D. Johnson

TSCO “Vegas to Reno”
1st Place             Steve Strobel
2nd Place             BJ Baldwin
3rd Place             John Swift / Steve Olliges

Blue Water Desert Challenge
1st Place             Steve Sourapas
2nd Place             John Swift / Steve Olliges
3rd Place             Steve Strobel

TransWest Ford Henderson “250”
1st Place             Adam Householder
2nd Place             Marc Ewing
3rd Place             Jerry Zaiden

Year-End Trick Truck Challenge Trophy
1st Place             B.J. Baldwin
2nd Place             Steve Strobel
3rd Place             John Swift / Steve Olliges

The Trick Truck Challenge only adds to the ever growing excitement for the upcoming Blue Water Resort & Casino Parker “425” that has already seen 33 Trick Trucks, 48 Class 1500 cars, 32 Class 1000 cars, and 22 Class 7200 trucks entered into the race. It all gets underway Thursday, February 2nd as the Trick Trucks and Class 1500 cars shoot it out head-to-head at the time trials for the $1,000 “Team Ford Pole Award” and the first overall starting position.

Best In the Desert Blue Water Resort & Casino Parker “425” schedule of events:

Thursday, February 2, 2012
11:30 AM  –-
Practice Run for the Time Trials, Time Trials Immediately follows practice run

3:00 PM to 5:00 PM  ––
Show & Shine – Downtown Experience / Downtown Parker – Display of Time Trial Vehicles, Street Fair

6:00 PM to 7:00 PM  ––
Results & Time Trials Party
Reception hosted by McKenzies Performance Products, Dig Lounge – Blue Water Resort & Casino

Friday, February 3, 2012
9:30 PM to 6:00 PM  ––
Car & Truck Contingency & Technical Inspection, North Parking Lot – Blue Water Resort & Casino

Saturday, February 4, 2012
7:15 AM  ––
1st Car/Truck Starts – California Avenue – Downtown Parker

Sunday, February 5, 2012
9:00 AM to 10:30 AM  ––
Awards Presentation – Bingo Room – Blue Water Resort & Casino

Best In The Desert official sponsors: Ford Motor Company – official truck, General Tire – official tire, Lucas – Official Oil, VP Racing Fuels – official fuel, KC HiLiTES – official light, John Deere – official UTV, American Beta – official motorcycle, Fabtech – Official Suspension, Fall Advertising, Prerunner Maniac, McKenzies, PCI Race Radios, Bullet Liner and Sportsman Cycle Sales.

Further information available from:

TAGS:  , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a reply