October 10, 2011 (Pomona, CA) – The off-road industry gathered Friday in Pomona, California to celebrate Ron Bishop and Rob MacCachren’s induction into the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame. The two inductees share a rich history in the off-road racing arena.

Ron Bishop, introduced by his longtime support crew of Dale Johnson and Don Graves, is a noted and celebrated motorcycle racer and carries the distinction as the only man on two-wheels to compete in the first forty Baja 1000 races.  He is also an Inductee in the American Motorcross Association Hall of Fame.  As a pioneer in the sport, he raced extensively as well as developed products including the first halogen lighting system for riders.  Bishop humbly accepted the award and recounted colorful stories from his rich racing history.  He currently owns and operates Ron Bishop Motorcycles in Escondido, California.
Rob MacCachren, a young entry at forty-six years old, has been racing trucks extensively for thirty years.  He is considered a master of many types of racing including desert and short course.  Longtime supporter Frank DeAngelo of Jackson Marketing Group introduced MacCachren noting his 188 race wins, five SCORE Baja 500 visctories, five Baja 1000 victories, three Borg Warner Cup Trophies and three Governor Cup Trophies.  BFGoodrich, a sponsor of the evening, named MacCachren Person of the Year in 2007.  A native of Las Vegas, Nevada, MacCachren delivered a moving speech giving thanks to the many who have supported him.

Rob MacCachren Induction Speech:

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

All Inductees in the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame must be nominated and voted on by committee through a stringent selection process.  Inductees must have had at least fifteen years experience and involvement in off-road motorsports. The inductees must have built, designed, driven, maintained, owned, prepared, piloted, promoted, ridden or supported an off-road vehicle. They are characterized by their desire to win, the mastery of their field and their courage to innovate. Categories for induction include Competition, Recreation and Pioneer.  Each person has made a significant contribution to off-road motorsports in at least one of the following aspects: Business, History, Design, Engineering, Prestige of the Sport, and/or Growth of the Sport.

Bishop and MacCachren enter an exclusive Hall of Fame of icons and notables including James Garner, Parnelli Jones, Steve McQueen, Malcolm Smith, Rod Hall, Ivan “Ironman” Stewart and Walker Evans to name a few.  To learn more about Ron Bishop, log on to Ron Bishop Motorcycles.  To view the Induction Ceremony tribute video to Rob MacCachren, click here.

The evening was made possible through the generous partnerships of BFGoodrich Tires, Sunoco, MasterCraft Safety, 4Wheel & Off-Road Magazine, 4Wheel Drive Magazine, Rod Hall Events and Soulside Network.  In conjunction with the evening was a fundraising auction including memorabilia from the sport’s legends and a coveted 2012 Griffin King of the Hammers qualifying spot generously donated by Griffin Thermal Products.

About the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame:
The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization located in Reno, Nevada within the National Automobile Museum – the famed Harrah Collection.  For more information or to become a member, log on to www.ormhof.org.

TAGS:  , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a reply