MESA, AZ – FAST-Aid is proud to be leading the efforts of the MDR California 200 Memorial Event at the Slash-X Ranch Café in Barstow, CA on Saturday August 13th from 2pm-9pm.  The amazing statue that was revealed at the Off-Road Expo last October will be set into the ground at a permanent memorial spot for all to enjoy. “The whole concept is meaningful: a figure 8 with the Ribbon Memorial sitting at the very top.  Eight trees dedicated to those lost surround it, with 22 lights going up the walkway and 22 shrubs planted to represent the injured,” said Lucas Hand, project leader for FAST-Aid.

“We are proud to put this memorial in a place where everyone can enjoy the art and remember those of our familia we lost that night,” said Hand.  Slash-X Ranch Café owner Brian Lynn has graciously offered a piece of property to put this memorial.  Slash-X is located at 28040 Barstow Road (Hwy 247) in Stoddard Valley, 8 miles south of Barstow, CA.

The Dedication will be led by Chaplain Steve Hanson from Racers for Christ at 6pm Saturday evening.  The BBQ will start at 4pm, but everyone is welcome to start gathering as early as 2pm.  There will be a raffle from 4pm-6pm with prizes donated from Poison Spyder, Team Associated and Butch’s Speed Shop.

FAST-Aid would like to thank Green Army for donating the 8 Trees, Ahern Rentals for donating the equipment, Worthing General Services in Santa Ana for donating Labor and Materials, and all the volunteers that have spent time on the ground working. The Memorial was originated by Dana Dague, designed by Scott Freeman, built by Craig Hall of R&I Industries and was mounted in concrete by Ted Cordts.

The initial unveiling ceremony took place Saturday October 9, 2010 at 11am during the 2010 Lucas Oil Off-Road Expo in Pomona, CA. “My biggest fear is that as the years go by, people will forget.  However, this beautiful Memorial being unveiled today will be our constant reminder.  So let’s all make a promise to each other today, to keep supporting this great sport that Aaron and all of us love so much,” stated Cindy Farkas-Lake, Aaron Farkas’ mother whose letter was read during the ceremony.

We hope that you will join in memory of Aaron Farkas, Danica Frantzich, Michael Dickinson, Andrew Therrinn, Anthony Sanchez, Zachary Freeman, Dustin Malson, and Brian Wolfin.

TAGS:  , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a reply