Red Bull/KTM Factory rider Mike Alessi earned 5th overall after scoring two back to back 5th place finishes at the fourth round of the AMA Pro Motocross Championship Series held at Budds Creek MX Park in Mechanicsville, MD.

Alessi earned his trademark start as he pulled the holeshot at the beginning of the first moto. He led for the first four laps before he was passed by Ryan Villopoto. Alessi rode a solid pace for the first moto to finish 5th overall at the end of the 30 minute plus two lap race. “I am still struggling with my endurance since returning from my Hangtown crash,” remarked Alessi. “I am making progress each time I ride but I definitely still need more time on the bike to get up to consistent podium speed.”

Alessi repeated his great start in the second moto. This time he missed the holeshot but moved into the lead by the second corner and led for the first two laps. He hung on for 5th a second time to earn 5th overall for the day.

On the 350 SX-F was Alessi’s teammate, Andrew Short (above right), who matched his best overall finish of the season with a 9th place result. Short was running in 6th in the first moto before a crash set him back to 13th. He charged forward and climbed back into the top ten to finish 9th that moto just a bike length behind the 8th place bike of Josh Grant. In the second moto he got a decent start and put his bike in the top ten early and moved up to 8th near the moto end.

The most impressive story of the day was FMF/KTM rider Mike Brown. The former 125cc National Motocross Champion showed up at Budds Creek to earn a few more points toward keeping his national number. Mission accomplished. Brown went 12-13 for the day to add 17 points to his championship point’s total which put him over the 25 point minimum a former champion must earn to retain their number. That means Brown fans everywhere will get to see him carry the #3 plate for another season.

Next Event: Thunder Valley – Lakewood, CO – June 25, 2011

Overall Results

1)     Chad Reed (3,1)

2)     Ryan Villopoto (1,3)

3)     Ryan Dungey (2,2)

4)     Kevin Windham (4,4)

5)     Mike Alessi (5,5) – KTM

6)     Brett Metcalfe (6,6)

7)     Davi Millsaps (7,9)

8)     Jake Weimer (10,7)

9)     Andrew Short (9,8) – KTM

10) Josh Grant (8,10)

11) Ricky Dietrich (11,11)

12) Christian Craig (13,12)

13) Mike Brown (12,13) – KTM

14) Ben LaMay (17,15)

15) Les Smith (16,16)

16) Nick Wey (15,19)

17) Fredrik Noren (21,14)

18) Lowell Spangler (18,17)

19) Michael Byrne (14,23)

20) Travis Sewell (20,18)

TAGS:  , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a reply